Airport Parking Help · UK
Pricing · 2026-10-06

What Changes the Final Price? A Guide to Quoted vs. Actual Parking Costs

Why the price you see at checkout can differ from what you pay. We explain the levers official parking pages expose—duration, product, booking channel, and overstay—and how to avoid surprises.

You booked parking, you saw a price, and then the final charge was different. This article explains the levers that official airport parking pages expose—duration, product, booking channel, and overstay—and what you can do to avoid surprises. It is written from the evidence published by London Gatwick Airport on its official pages, checked on 6 October 2026. Where the evidence is silent, we say so and point you to the official page you must check.

Why did the price change?

The most common reason a quoted price and a final price differ is that the quote and the final charge are based on different inputs. The official London Gatwick pages show at least four inputs that can move the number: how long you stay, which product you buy, which booking channel you use, and whether you stay longer than you booked.

One clear example is the booking channel. London Gatwick advises booking more than 24 hours before arrival to secure the best rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons. If you instead arrive without a booking, you pay the roll-up price at the barrier. The roll-up prices are published separately and are the same across both the North and South Terminal. The official page states: “We always advise booking car parking more than 24 hours away from your arrival time to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons.” It also acknowledges that “sometimes the unexpected happens and you might need to arrive at one of our car parks without a booking.” That is the channel lever: pre-booked vs. roll-up. The two channels are not the same price, and the official page publishes the roll-up prices for each car park.

A second reason is the product itself. The same airport sells different parking products—Short Stay, Long Stay, drop-off and pick-up zones. Each has its own price structure. For example, the official page states you can get “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay or get two hours free at Long Stay.” Those are different products with different rules. If you quoted one product and used another, the final price will differ.

A third reason is duration. Parking is sold by time. A 30-minute Short Stay is not priced like a multi-day stay. If your actual entry and exit times differ from what you booked, the final price can change. The official page does not publish a full duration-by-duration price table in the evidence we have; you must check the full range of roll-up prices on the official page for the exact numbers.

A fourth reason is overstay. If you stay longer than you booked, you may be charged at a different rate for the extra time. The evidence bundle does not contain the overstay rules or the overstay rates for London Gatwick. That is a gap. To find out what happens if you overstay, you must check the official terms and conditions and the specific car park page. We cannot state the overstay rule here because it is not in the evidence.

Finally, payment method can add a separate line item. The London Gatwick terms and conditions describe a surcharge for corporate cards. The surcharge “reflects the additional processing costs incurred for corporate card transactions,” is VAT-inclusive, and “will be displayed as a separate line item on your receipt/invoice.” The terms state that “no surcharge will apply to consumer cards or alternative payment methods.” If your quoted price did not include that surcharge, your final invoice may show it as a separate charge. This is not a price change in the parking rate itself, but it changes the total you pay.

What levers exist?

Based on the official pages in the evidence bundle, here are the levers that can change the final price.

1. Booking channel: pre-book vs. roll-up

London Gatwick distinguishes between booking in advance and arriving without a booking. The official page advises booking more than 24 hours ahead to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons. If you do not book, you pay the roll-up price. The roll-up prices are published for each car park and are the same across both the North and South Terminal. The official page also states that by using the Official London Gatwick car parks you get “the only secure on-airport parking,” “ANPR controlled barriers,” and “24 hour security.” Those features are part of the official product, but the price lever is the channel: pre-book or roll up.

To compare how different booking channels and products stack up, see our comparison page and our pricing hub. Those pages are part of this specialist reference site and are not official airport pages.

2. Product: Short Stay, Long Stay, drop-off and pick-up

The official page lists different products with different prices. It states: “Discover our official parking roll-up prices; from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay or get two hours free at Long Stay.” It also states that “the drop-off zones are located directly outside the airport terminals” and that “a minimum £10 charge now applies” to drop-off. The official page recommends using the Short Stay car parks for picking up. Each product has its own price logic. If you quoted one product and used another, the final price will differ. The official page does not list every product price in the evidence we have; you must check the full range of roll-up prices on the official page.

3. Duration

Parking is time-based. The official page gives one example: “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay.” It does not publish a full duration table in the evidence we have. If your stay is longer or shorter than the period you booked, the final price can change. To see the full duration-based pricing, you must check the official roll-up price page and the specific product page for the car park you use.

4. Overstay

If you stay longer than you booked, you may be charged for the extra time. The evidence bundle does not contain the overstay rules or the overstay rates. We cannot state what the overstay charge is, whether there is a grace period, or how it is calculated. That is not stated here. To find out, you must check the official terms and conditions page and the specific car park page for the product you booked.

5. Payment method

The London Gatwick terms and conditions describe a corporate card surcharge. The surcharge is for cards “marked as ‘business,’ ‘corporate,’ ‘commercial,’ or similar, and cards linked to a business account.” It “reflects the additional processing costs incurred for corporate card transactions,” is “VAT-inclusive,” and “will be displayed as a separate line item on your receipt/invoice.” The terms also state: “No surcharge will apply to consumer cards or alternative payment methods, in compliance with the UK Payment Services Regulations 2017.” The terms say customers are informed on the checkout page that using a corporate card may incur extra charges, and that the surcharge will be clearly itemised on the payment summary page and in all transactional documentation. If you use a corporate card, your final total may be higher than the quoted parking price because of this separate line item.

How do I avoid surprises?

Here are practical steps drawn from the official pages in the evidence bundle.

  1. Book more than 24 hours ahead. The official page advises booking more than 24 hours before your arrival time to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons. If you can, book early through the official channel.
  2. Check the product you are buying. Short Stay, Long Stay, and drop-off are different products with different prices. The official page states you can get “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay or get two hours free at Long Stay,” and that a “minimum £10 charge” applies to drop-off. Make sure the product on your quote matches the product you actually use.
  3. Match your booked duration to your actual stay. If your plans change, update your booking if the official system allows it. The evidence bundle does not state the amendment rules; you must check the official terms and conditions for what amendments are allowed and whether they change the price.
  4. Know the overstay position before you travel. The evidence bundle does not state the overstay rules. Check the official terms and conditions and the specific car park page so you know what happens if you return later than planned.
  5. Check the payment method. If you use a corporate card, expect a separate surcharge line item. The terms state the surcharge is VAT-inclusive and will be itemised on your receipt/invoice. If you use a consumer card or an alternative payment method, the terms state no surcharge applies.
  6. Read the checkout page and your confirmation. The terms state that customers are informed on the checkout page that using a corporate card may incur extra charges, and that the surcharge will be clearly itemised on the payment summary page and in transactional documentation including email confirmations and downloadable invoices.

For a side-by-side view of how different options compare, see our comparison page. For more on how pricing is structured, see our pricing hub.

What the evidence does not tell you

This article is limited to the official pages in the evidence bundle. Several points are not covered there, and you must check the official pages for them:

To read the official pages yourself, go to the London Gatwick roll-up car park prices page at https://www.gatwickairport.com/parking/roll-up-car-park-prices.html and the London Gatwick terms and conditions page at https://www.gatwickairport.com/terms-and-conditions.html. Both were checked on 6 October 2026.

Summary

If your quoted price and final price differ, the cause is likely one of the levers the official pages expose: you used a different booking channel (roll-up instead of pre-book), a different product (Short Stay instead of Long Stay, or a drop-off zone), a different duration, an overstay, or a corporate card surcharge added as a separate line item. The official pages give you the levers but not every rate. For the exact numbers for your dates and product, check the official London Gatwick roll-up price page and the terms and conditions page. For comparisons and pricing context on this site, see our comparison page and pricing hub.

Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Roll-Up Car Park Prices and Terms and Conditions. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.

Apply this to your journey

Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.

Compare parking →