Planning a two-week holiday means pricing a stay that runs across many consecutive days, not a single night. That changes the way you should read a car park tariff. This article explains how a fortnight of long stay parking prices in principle, whether a long stay is cheaper for long trips, and exactly what to check before you commit. It uses the official London Gatwick parking pages as the worked example, because those are the source pages in the evidence bundle. Where the bundle does not state a figure, this article says so and names the page a reader must check.
Why a fortnight is not priced like a single day
Airport car parks generally publish two different kinds of price. The first is a drive-up, pay-on-the-day price, sometimes called a roll-up price. The second is a pre-booked price, which is what the operator asks you to secure in advance. The official Gatwick roll-up page states the operator's own advice plainly: "We always advise booking car parking more than 24 hours away from your arrival time to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons." That sentence tells you two things that matter for a two-week budget. First, the price you pay can depend on how far ahead you book. Second, the advice is framed around a 24-hour threshold, not around a specific number of days. The bundle does not state a separate long-stay rate for a fortnight, so a reader must check the official pricing page for the actual figure.
Because a fortnight is fourteen days of occupancy, the total is the product of the daily or per-period rate and the number of days, plus any charges that apply per entry or per stay. The bundle does not set out a fortnightly rate table, so this article cannot give a total. What it can do is show you the structure to look for and the checks to run.
How a fortnight prices across many days
The clearest way to think about a long stay is as a stack of days. Each day the vehicle occupies a space adds to the bill. A fortnight therefore sits at the long end of the range a car park prices for, and the total will normally be larger than a short break simply because more days are being charged. That is arithmetic, not a claim about any particular operator's rate.
The bundle gives one concrete roll-up data point that shows the shape of the tariff: "from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay or get two hours free at Long Stay." This is a short-duration figure, not a fortnight figure. It is useful only to show that the published roll-up schedule is segmented by duration, with different prices attaching to different lengths of stay. It does not tell you what fourteen days costs, and this article does not claim that it does.
For a two-week trip, the practical implication is that you should expect the tariff to be quoted for the whole stay period rather than as a flat daily rate. When you price a fortnight, you are asking the booking system for a total for a continuous fourteen-day window, and that total is what you compare against your budget.
Is a long stay cheaper for long trips?
The evidence bundle does not contain a price comparison between long stay and short stay for a fourteen-day period, so this article cannot state that long stay is cheaper for a fortnight. That is a point a reader must verify on the official pricing page. What the bundle does support is narrower and still useful.
The official Gatwick parking page describes long stay as one of the parking options alongside short stay, mid stay, valet, premium and robotic parking. It presents the official car parks as offering "competitive pricing and complete peace of mind while you're away." That is the operator's own description, not an independent price comparison, and it does not establish that long stay is the cheapest option for a two-week trip.
The roll-up page adds a relevant structural fact: the roll-up prices "are the same across both the North and South Terminal." For a fortnight budget, that means the terminal choice does not change the published roll-up price. It does not tell you whether a pre-booked long stay rate beats a short stay rate over fourteen days.
So the honest answer is: the bundle does not say whether long stay is cheaper for long trips. A reader who needs that answer should compare the official long stay and short stay tariffs for the same fourteen-day window on the operator's own pricing pages.
What to check before you budget
Use this checklist when you price a fortnight. Each item is something the bundle identifies as relevant, and each one points to the official page where the actual figure lives.
- Check the booking lead time. The roll-up page advises booking more than 24 hours before arrival to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly in peak seasons. A fortnight that falls in a peak period is exactly the case that advice is aimed at.
- Check whether you are looking at a roll-up price or a booked price. The roll-up page explicitly covers arriving "without a booking" and publishes those prices separately. A budget built on a roll-up figure may differ from one built on a pre-booked figure. The bundle does not state how the two compare.
- Check the duration segmentation. The published roll-up schedule prices different durations differently, as the 30-minute short stay and two-hour long stay examples show. Make sure the figure you use is for the length of stay you actually need.
- Check the terminal. Roll-up prices are the same across the North and South Terminal, so terminal does not change that published figure. Whether the same holds for every other product is not stated in the bundle.
- Check what is included. The official parking page lists features such as ANPR-controlled barriers and 24-hour security as part of using the official car parks. These are described as benefits of the official car parks, not as a price guarantee.
- Check the drop-off charge separately. The roll-up page states that a minimum £10 charge applies for the drop-off zones outside the terminals, and that this is separate from parking. If your fortnight budget includes someone dropping you off, that charge sits outside the parking total.
- Check the official tariff itself. The bundle does not contain a fourteen-day price for any Gatwick car park. The figure must come from the operator's own pricing pages, not from this article.
Reading the official pages
Two official pages carry the details a fortnight budget needs. The Long Stay Parking page sets out the parking options and the operator's positioning of the official car parks. The Roll-Up Car Park Prices page sets out the drive-up prices, the booking advice and the drop-off charge. Read them together: the first tells you what product you are buying, the second tells you what the published drive-up tariff looks like and when the operator wants you to book.
For comparing products side by side, the site's comparison section is the natural place to line up long stay against the other options, and the pricing section is where the tariff material sits. Neither replaces the operator's own page for a live fourteen-day quote, but they help you organise the comparison before you go to the official source.
Building the fortnight budget
A workable two-week parking budget has four lines. First, the parking total for the full fourteen-day window, taken from the official tariff. Second, any drop-off or pick-up charge that applies to your journey, which the bundle prices at a minimum £10 for the drop-off zones. Third, any difference between a booked rate and a roll-up rate, which you can only establish by checking both. Fourth, any peak-season effect, which the operator flags as a reason to book early.
The bundle does not state a fortnight price, a daily long stay rate, a maximum stay, or a cancellation rule. Where your budget depends on any of those, treat this article as silent and check the official London Gatwick parking pages directly. That is the only place a verifiable fourteen-day figure can come from.
Summary
A fortnight prices as a long continuous stay, so the tariff you need is the one published for the full period, not a single-day figure. The bundle supports the operator's advice to book more than 24 hours ahead for the best possible rates and a guaranteed space, particularly in peak seasons, and it shows that published roll-up prices are segmented by duration and are the same across both terminals. It does not state whether long stay is cheaper than short stay over fourteen days, and it does not state a fourteen-day price at all. Check the official tariff before you commit your budget.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Long Stay Parking and Roll-Up Car Park Prices. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →