If you are travelling alone, with light luggage, and you want the least friction possible on a quick turnaround, the planning question is simple: what is the lowest-effort way to leave a car and get to the terminal? This article works only from the evidence available on two official airport parking pages, and it flags clearly where the evidence stops.
What the evidence actually covers
The evidence bundle contains two official sources. The first is Heathrow Airport's Terminal Parking page, which is made up of driving directions to Terminal Parking car parks at Terminals 3, 4 and 5. The second is London Gatwick Airport's Parking FAQs page, which lists daily rates for several Gatwick parking products and answers questions about Short Stay parking and Valet Parking.
Neither page is written specifically for a solo traveller with light luggage on a quick turnaround. Neither page states which option is easiest for one person, how many minutes of walking are involved, or whether a more expensive product is worth the extra money for that specific use case. Those three questions are the core of this article, so where the bundle is silent, this article says so and names the official page a reader should check.
Easiest option alone
The bundle does not contain a statement from either airport identifying a single easiest parking product for a solo traveller. What it does contain is a set of product names and, for Gatwick, a set of daily rates. On the Gatwick FAQ page, the products named in the excerpt are Short Stay, Gatwick Holiday Parking, Valet parking, Mid Stay North parking, Mid Stay South parking, and Premium Mid Stay parking.
Valet Parking is the one product in the bundle whose description speaks directly to effort. The Gatwick page states: "If you choose our Valet Parking option, your car will be moved to a secure on-site storage facility whilst you are away and will be ready waiting." That is the closest the evidence comes to describing a product where the driver hands over the car rather than parking it and walking. The bundle does not state how far the handover point is from the terminal, how long the handover takes, or whether Valet Parking is available to solo travellers on a quick turnaround. A reader who needs those details must check the official Gatwick parking pages.
For Heathrow, the Terminal Parking page gives driving directions only. It explains how to reach Terminal Parking car parks for Terminals 3, 4 and 5, including route detail such as exiting the M25 at Junction 15, taking the Chard Road turning, and joining Cromer Road for one of the car parks. It does not name a product tier, does not compare products, and does not say which one is easiest for one person. A reader choosing between Heathrow Terminal Parking products must check the official Heathrow parking pages, because the bundle does not rank them.
So the honest answer to "easiest option alone" is this: the bundle names Valet Parking as the product where the car is moved for you, and that is the only product description in the bundle that reduces driver effort. It does not state that Valet Parking is the easiest option for a solo traveller, and this article will not claim that it is.
How much walking
The bundle does not state walking distances or walking times for any parking product at either airport. There is no figure for the walk from a car park to a terminal, no figure for the walk from a Valet handover point, and no figure for a shuttle bus interval.
What the bundle does say about movement is limited to driving directions. The Heathrow Terminal Parking page describes road routes: from the M25, exit at Junction 15; continue through the tunnel, keeping left before taking the Chard Road turning on your left before the traffic lights; stay left, following the road around joining Cromer Road, where the car park entrance will be on your left once the road straightens. For Terminal 4, it describes exiting the M25 at Junction 14, joining the A3113 at a roundabout, taking the second exit on to the Southern Perimeter Road, leaving the road at the Terminal 4 roundabout, and joining Stratford Road. For Terminal 5, it describes M4 users exiting at Junction 4B for the anticlockwise M25 and taking the next exit on the M25 at Junction 14.
Those are driving instructions, not walking instructions. A solo traveller who wants to know how much walking a quick turnaround involves will not find the answer in this bundle. The page to check is the official airport parking page for the airport and terminal in question, because walking distance and transfer arrangements are the kind of detail those pages normally carry and this bundle does not.
One related point the bundle does cover, for Gatwick: the Short Stay car parks have "no minimum or maximum length of stay," and a driver picking someone up can park in the North or South Terminal Short Stay car park for up to 30 minutes for £8. That is a rule about duration and a price for a specific use case, not about walking. It is included here because it is one of the few concrete operational facts in the bundle, and because a solo traveller planning a quick turnaround may want to know that Short Stay has no minimum or maximum stay at Gatwick.
Worth paying more
The bundle gives Gatwick daily rates for several products. The excerpt lists: £15 each day for Gatwick Holiday Parking, £30 each day for Valet parking, £60 a day for Mid Stay North parking, £15 a day for Mid Stay South parking, and £80 each day for Premium Mid Stay parking. It also states that amendments made at least 24 hours before your original exit time will be charged at your booking's current daily rate with no extra amendment fees, and that you can extend your booking via myGatwick on the website.
Those figures show that the products are priced differently, with Valet parking at £30 each day sitting well below Mid Stay North at £60 a day and Premium Mid Stay at £80 each day, and equal to or above Gatwick Holiday Parking and Mid Stay South at £15 a day. The bundle does not explain what each product includes, how far each is from the terminal, or what the price difference buys in terms of time or effort. It therefore does not support a claim that any one product is worth paying more for.
For a solo traveller with light luggage, the practical implication of the evidence is narrow: if reduced personal effort is the priority, the bundle's only description of a product that moves the car for you is Valet Parking, and at Gatwick that product is listed at £30 each day. Whether that is worth paying more than a £15-a-day product depends on facts the bundle does not contain, such as walking distance, transfer time and handover procedure. A reader weighing that decision should check the official Gatwick parking pages for product descriptions, and the official Heathrow parking pages if travelling from Heathrow, because the bundle does not compare products on effort.
The bundle also does not state any rule about pre-booking being required for Valet Parking, any cancellation terms, or any eligibility conditions. The only pre-booking guidance in the bundle is for Gatwick Short Stay: if you wish to park longer than 30 minutes, the page recommends pre-booking Short Stay parking as far in advance as possible in order to enjoy the best rates. That recommendation is about Short Stay, not about Valet Parking, and this article does not extend it.
Putting the planning together
For a solo traveller with light luggage on a quick turnaround, the evidence supports a short, cautious plan. First, decide the airport and terminal, because the bundle only covers Heathrow Terminal Parking directions for Terminals 3, 4 and 5, and Gatwick parking products and FAQs. Second, if minimising personal effort is the goal, note that Valet Parking is the only product in the bundle described as having the car moved and ready waiting, and that at Gatwick it is listed at £30 each day. Third, accept that the bundle does not tell you how much walking is involved, so walking distance must be checked on the official airport page before booking.
For broader planning structure, see the site's planning section, and for side-by-side product thinking see the comparison section. Those pages can help organise the decision, but they do not replace the official airport pages for product-specific facts.
Where this article has been unable to answer a question, the reason is the same each time: the evidence bundle does not contain the fact. The official pages to check are Heathrow's Terminal Parking page for Heathrow driving routes and car park locations, and Gatwick's Parking FAQs page for Gatwick rates, Short Stay rules and the Valet Parking description. Any price, walking distance, transfer time, eligibility rule or booking condition not quoted above is not stated here and must be confirmed on those official pages.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Terminal Parking. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →