If you are driving to the airport and coming back the same day, the parking decision is different from the one a holidaymaker makes. You are not leaving a car for a week; you are leaving it for a few hours. That changes both the product that fits and the way the price is calculated. This article explains what the evidence from London Gatwick Airport's published parking pages shows, and where you need to check the official pages yourself before you travel.
Start with the shape of your trip
A same-day return trip is, in parking terms, a very short stay. The car is on site for hours, not days. The question that matters most is therefore not “which car park is cheapest per day” but “which car park is priced sensibly for a few hours, and how does the charging band work”.
London Gatwick's published parking FAQs state that there is no minimum or maximum length of stay in the Short Stay car parks. That is a useful starting point: a same-day return is not excluded from the Short Stay product on length-of-stay grounds. The same FAQ page adds that if you are picking someone up you can park in the North or South Terminal Short Stay car park for up to 30 minutes for £8, and that after 30 minutes you will pay the roll-up rate if you have not pre-booked.
That single sentence contains the core mechanic for a same-day return: the first half hour is a defined entry point, and beyond it the price is governed by the published roll-up band you fall into unless you have booked in advance.
Where to park for a day trip
For a very short stay the evidence points to the Short Stay car parks as the relevant product. The roll-up price page describes Short Stay Parking as parking within the short term car parks, offering minimal walking distances and a convenient location close to the terminal. That description matters for a day trip: you are likely to be moving through the terminal quickly in both directions, so proximity is part of what you are buying.
There is also a Premium Short Stay option. The same page describes it as being for customers who value the convenience of parking as close to the terminal as possible with same-level access, with a dedicated parking area available in both North and South Terminal Short Stay car parks.
So the practical choice for a same-day return is between standard Short Stay and Premium Short Stay, with the trade-off being position and price rather than length of stay. The bundle does not state a maximum stay for either, and the FAQ explicitly says there is no maximum in the Short Stay car parks.
How does a few hours price?
This is where banded pricing does the work. Both Short Stay and Premium Short Stay are priced in bands, and each band has its own price. The roll-up page lists the following for standard Short Stay Parking:
- Up to 30 mins: £8.00
- 31 – 60 mins: £14.00
- 1 – 2 hours: £18.00
- 2 – 3 hours: £21.50
- 3 – 4 hours: £26.00
- 4 – 5 hours: £31.50
- 5 – 6 hours: £40.50
- 6 – 12 hours: £60.00
- 12 – 24 hours: £70.00
- Each subsequent day: £70.00
And for Premium Short Stay Parking, the same page lists:
- Up to 30 mins: £12.00
- 31 – 60 mins: £19.00
- 1 – 2 hours: £22.00
- 2 – 3 hours: £26.00
- 3 – 4 hours: £33.00
- 4 – 5 hours: £41.00
- 5 – 6 hours: £56.00
- 6 – 12 hours: £74.50
- 12 – 24 hours: £87.50
- Each subsequent day: £87.50
The key point about a banded structure is that you are charged by the band you occupy, not by a smooth per-minute rate. A trip that overruns by a few minutes can move you into the next band and therefore the next price. For a same-day return, the bands most likely to apply are the ones between one and six hours, depending on how long your day actually runs.
Read the bands carefully rather than assuming a simple hourly rate. The published figures show that the jump from one band to the next is not uniform: some steps are smaller than others. The bundle does not explain the reasoning behind the band sizes, and it does not state any grace period, so you should not assume one exists. If you need to know exactly how a specific arrival and departure time is charged, the official roll-up price page is the place to check.
Short or long stay?
For a same-day return the evidence points to Short Stay rather than Long Stay. The roll-up page mentions that there is a product for up to two hours in the Long Stay car parks, but the excerpt in the bundle does not give the price for it. That is a gap you should be aware of: the bundle shows a Long Stay option exists for short durations, but not what it costs.
What the bundle does show clearly is that the Short Stay car parks have no minimum or maximum length of stay, and that the standard Short Stay and Premium Short Stay bands cover durations from 30 minutes upward. On the evidence available, Short Stay is the product whose published pricing directly addresses a few-hour stay.
Do not assume Long Stay is automatically cheaper for a few hours. The bundle does not contain the Long Stay short-duration prices, so no comparison can be made from these pages alone. If you want to weigh Long Stay against Short Stay for a day trip, you must check the official Long Stay pricing page, because this evidence bundle does not state it.
Book in advance or pay on the day?
Both the standard Short Stay and Premium Short Stay sections of the roll-up page end with the same note: it is cheaper to book that parking in advance. The FAQ page reinforces this, stating that if you wish to park any longer than 30 minutes, the recommendation is to pre-book Short Stay parking as far in advance as possible in order to enjoy the best rates.
For a same-day return, that recommendation is directly relevant. A few hours is longer than 30 minutes, so it falls into the territory where the airport itself recommends booking ahead. The roll-up prices listed above are the prices you pay without a pre-booked rate, as the FAQ indicates by saying that after 30 minutes you will pay the roll-up rate if you have not pre-booked.
The bundle does not state what the pre-booked rates are, nor how far in advance you must book to obtain them. It also does not state whether pre-booking is available for every duration. Those details are not covered here and must be checked on the official booking pages.
Changing or extending a booking
The FAQ page states that you can extend your booking via myGatwick on the website, and that amendments made at least 24 hours before your original exit time will be charged at your booking's current daily rate with no extra amendment fees.
That rule is written in terms of a daily rate and an original exit time, which is more naturally read against a multi-day booking than a few-hour same-day return. The bundle does not state how amendments work for a short stay of a few hours, and it does not state whether the same 24-hour amendment window applies. If your same-day plans might change, treat this as an open question and confirm the position on the official parking pages before relying on it.
Other products mentioned in the evidence
The FAQ page also lists daily prices for other products: £15 each day for Gatwick Holiday Parking, £30 each day for Valet parking, £60 a day for Mid Stay North parking, £15 a day for Mid Stay South parking, and £80 each day for Premium Mid Stay parking. It also notes that if you choose Valet Parking, your car will be moved to a secure on-site storage facility while you are away.
These are daily figures rather than banded few-hour figures, and the bundle does not state short-duration prices for them. For a same-day return of a few hours, the evidence does not establish that any of these products is the right fit, and their daily pricing is not directly comparable to the Short Stay bands. The roll-up page also notes that Mid Stay North is a free-flow car park using number plate recognition cameras, but the excerpt does not give its short-stay pricing.
A practical sequence for a same-day return
- Estimate how many hours the car will actually be parked, from arrival to departure, including any buffer.
- Identify which Short Stay band that duration falls into, using the published bands for standard or Premium Short Stay.
- Check whether a pre-booked rate is available for that duration, since the airport states it is cheaper to book in advance.
- If your plans are uncertain, check the amendment rules rather than assuming the 24-hour rule applies to a short stay.
- If you are considering Long Stay or Mid Stay instead, check their short-duration prices directly, because this bundle does not state them.
Where to verify
The two official pages behind this article are London Gatwick Airport's Roll-Up Car Park Prices page and its Parking FAQs page. Prices, bands and rules can change, so check those pages before you book. For comparing products side by side, see our comparison section, and for broader trip planning see our planning section.
Where this article says something is not stated, that is a deliberate limit of the evidence available here, not a suggestion that no rule exists. The official pages named above are the correct place to resolve those points.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Roll-Up Car Park Prices. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →