Airport Parking Help · UK
Pricing · 2026-10-06

Roll-Up Price Bands Explained: How Turn-Up Parking Tariffs Work

A reference guide to roll-up parking price bands, using the official London Gatwick tariff as a worked example, and an explanation of why pre-booking is the safer option.

If you have ever driven to an airport car park without a booking and looked at the tariff board at the barrier, you have encountered roll-up pricing. This article explains what roll-up pricing is, how the banded structure works, and why the operator's own guidance points drivers towards booking ahead instead. All figures and rules below come from the official London Gatwick roll-up price page, checked on 6 October 2026. Where this article does not cover a point, it says so and names the page you need to check.

What is roll-up pricing?

Roll-up pricing is the tariff an operator publishes for drivers who arrive at a car park without a prior booking. London Gatwick describes these as "the roll-up prices for each of our car parks", and states that they "are the same across both the North and South Terminal". In other words, the roll-up tariff is a single published price list that applies to the official car parks on that airport, regardless of which terminal you are using.

This is different from a pre-booked rate. A pre-booked rate is agreed before you travel; a roll-up price is the price you accept when you simply turn up and take a ticket at the barrier. The official London Gatwick page presents roll-up prices as a published schedule, so you can read them in advance even if you have not booked. You can view the full schedule on the official London Gatwick roll-up car park prices page.

The airport also sets out what it says you get by using its own car parks rather than an off-airport alternative. It lists "The only secure on-airport parking", "ANPR controlled barriers" and "24 hour security" as the peace-of-mind features of the Official London Gatwick car parks. Those are the operator's own descriptions, not an independent assessment.

How the bands work

A banded tariff divides your stay into time windows. Instead of one flat charge, each window has its own price, and you pay the price for the band your stay falls into. The band is normally measured from the moment you enter to the moment you leave, so a stay of one hour and one minute falls into the next band up, not the band below.

The published Short Stay bands at London Gatwick run as follows:

Stay lengthRoll-up price
Up to 30 mins£8.00
31 - 60 mins£14.00
1 - 2 hours£18.00
2 - 3 hours£21.50
3 - 4 hours£26.00
4 - 5 hours£31.50
5 - 6 hours£40.50
6 - 12 hours£60.00
12 - 24 hours£70.00
Each subsequent day£70.00

Two features of this structure are worth noticing. First, the bands are not evenly priced: the step from the 30-minute band to the 31-60 minute band is smaller than the step from 6-12 hours to 12-24 hours. Second, the long-stay end of the table flattens out: the 12-24 hour band and each subsequent day are both listed at £70.00, so once you are past 12 hours, the published schedule charges the same daily amount for each further day.

The same page publishes a separate table for Premium Short Stay Parking, described as being for "customers who value the convenience of parking as close to the terminal as possible with same-level access", with a dedicated area in both the North and South Terminal Short Stay car parks. Its bands are:

Stay lengthPremium Short Stay roll-up price
Up to 30 mins£12.00
31 - 60 mins£19.00
1 - 2 hours£22.00
2 - 3 hours£26.00
3 - 4 hours£33.00
4 - 5 hours£41.00
5 - 6 hours£56.00
6 - 12 hours£74.50
12 - 24 hours£87.50
Each subsequent day£87.50

The Premium table follows the same shape as the standard Short Stay table, with a higher price in every band and the same flattening at the 12-24 hour and subsequent-day level. The page does not state why the premium bands are priced higher; it only describes the location and access difference.

The page also mentions two other products with different rules. It says you can "get two hours free at Long Stay", and it states that "A minimum £10 charge now applies" to the drop-off zones located directly outside the airport terminals. Those are separate from the Short Stay and Premium Short Stay band tables above. The page does not publish a complete band table for every car park in the excerpt available here; for Mid Stay and Long Stay band details, check the official page directly.

Why pre-book instead

The operator's own position on this is explicit. London Gatwick states: "We always advise booking car parking more than 24 hours away from your arrival time to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons." That sentence contains two separate reasons to book ahead: price and availability.

The price point is repeated against the band tables themselves. Under the Short Stay table the page says: "It's cheaper to book Short Stay Parking in advance." Under the Premium Short Stay table it says: "It's cheaper to book your Premium Short Stay parking in advance." So the comparison is not between two different products; it is between the same product bought in advance and the same product bought at the barrier.

The availability point matters because a roll-up price is only useful if there is a space to roll up into. The airport says it advises booking more than 24 hours ahead to "guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons". A roll-up driver has no guaranteed space, and the page does not offer any guarantee of availability for drivers without a booking. If you want to compare the pre-booked options before deciding, the site's comparison pages and pricing pages are the places to start.

The airport also acknowledges why roll-up pricing exists at all: "We understand however that sometimes the unexpected happens and you might need to arrive at one of our car parks without a booking." Roll-up pricing is therefore framed as a fallback for unplanned arrivals, not as the recommended way to buy parking.

What the bands mean in practice

Because the bands are stepped, small differences in timing can move you into a higher price. A stay that runs a few minutes past a band boundary is charged at the next band's rate, not a pro-rata amount. The published tables do not describe any grace period, rounding rule or tolerance around the boundaries, so if you need to know how a stay of a specific length is treated, that detail is not stated here and you should check the official London Gatwick page.

It is also worth reading the band table as a whole rather than only the band you expect to use. Because the 12-24 hour band and each subsequent day are listed at the same figure in both tables, the schedule does not reward a longer stay with a lower daily rate at that end of the scale; the daily figure simply repeats.

Practical checklist

What this article does not cover

This article does not state prices, bands or rules for products other than those quoted above, and it does not state any booking fee, cancellation term, refund right or grace period, because the evidence bundle does not include them. It also does not state how band boundaries are measured in seconds or minutes beyond what the tables show. For any of those points, and for the current version of the tariff, go to the official London Gatwick roll-up car park prices page and read the schedule for the specific car park you intend to use.

Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Roll-Up Car Park Prices. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.

Apply this to your journey

Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.

Compare parking →