If you are choosing between a standard short stay and a premium short stay, the decision usually comes down to one question: what does the premium option actually add, and does that matter for your trip? This comparison works only from the official descriptions available in the evidence bundle, so it explains what is documented, what is not stated, and where you should check before booking.
What is premium short stay?
In the evidence bundle, the term used is Premium Short Stay car park, and it is described alongside the standard Short Stay car park. The official Parking FAQs state that “Premium car parks offer same-level access to both the North and South Terminals for added ease.” That is the core difference the bundle records: premium short stay is a short stay car park option that provides same-level access to both terminals.
The bundle also records a specific rule for Blue Badge holders: “if you're a Blue Badge holder, you can use the Premium Short Stay car park at the standard Short Stay rate for up to four hours.” The process is also described: “When you arrive, press the ‘Assistance’ button at the entry barrier. On exit, press the intercom again so our team can apply the Short Stay rate before you pay.”
What is not stated here is the full product definition of premium short stay beyond that same-level access point and the Blue Badge rule. The bundle does not include a complete feature list, bay size, distance in metres, or a separate premium-only service list. For a full definition, a reader should check the official London Gatwick parking pages, including the Parking FAQs and the Roll-Up Car Park Prices page.
What do I get for more?
The evidence bundle gives one clear documented benefit of premium over standard short stay: same-level access to both the North and South Terminals. The Parking FAQs say: “Premium car parks offer same-level access to both the North and South Terminals for added ease.”
That is a convenience and accessibility feature. It is described as “added ease,” which suggests the benefit is about how you move between the car park and the terminal rather than about a different parking duration or a different booking process. The bundle does not say that premium short stay includes a faster check-in, a guaranteed space, a covered bay, a specific walking distance, or any other extra. Those points are not stated here, so they should not be assumed.
The bundle also records that all car parks and shuttle services are “fully compliant with the Equality Act, ensuring step-free, safe access for passengers with reduced mobility.” It adds that “Blue Badge parking is available in every car park.” This means step-free access and Blue Badge parking are not unique to premium; they are described as available across the car parks. The premium-specific addition in the bundle is the same-level terminal access.
For Blue Badge holders, the bundle records a pricing rule rather than a feature: “you can use the Premium Short Stay car park at the standard Short Stay rate for up to four hours.” This is a rule with a time limit, so it is worth reading carefully. The bundle does not state the actual prices for either the standard or premium short stay beyond the general roll-up starting figure, so a reader must check the official pages for current prices.
On price, the bundle gives only one roll-up figure: “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay.” It does not give a premium short stay price, a standard short stay price beyond that starting figure, or a price difference between the two. Because the bundle is silent on the premium price, this article cannot state what the extra costs. A reader should check the Roll-Up Car Park Prices page for the current figures.
When is it worth it?
The bundle does not contain a value judgement or a recommendation that premium is worth it in specific circumstances. What it does contain is enough to describe the conditions in which the documented premium benefit would matter.
The premium benefit is same-level access to both the North and South Terminals. That benefit is most relevant when step-free, same-level movement between the car park and the terminal is important to you. The bundle states that all car parks and shuttle services are fully compliant with the Equality Act and provide step-free access, so step-free access alone does not distinguish premium. The distinguishing point is same-level access to both terminals. If you need to move between the North and South Terminals, or if you want to avoid any level change on the way to the terminal, the documented premium feature is directly relevant.
The Blue Badge rule is also a factor. For Blue Badge holders, the bundle states that the Premium Short Stay car park can be used at the standard Short Stay rate for up to four hours, using the Assistance button on arrival and the intercom on exit. That rule is time-limited, so it pays off only within the stated four-hour window. The bundle does not say what happens after four hours, so a reader must check the official Parking FAQs for the full conditions.
For a standard short stay, the bundle records that “the drop-off zones are located directly outside the airport terminals and are the most convenient place for dropping off passengers quickly and easily.” It also records a minimum £10 charge for drop-off, and recommends “that you use the Short Stay car parks for picking” up. This is useful context: if your trip is a quick drop-off, the bundle points to the drop-off zones and the Short Stay car parks, not to premium. The premium option is not described in the bundle as a drop-off product.
What the bundle does not provide is a comparison of total costs, a break-even point, or a list of trip types where premium is cheaper or better. It also does not state a cancellation policy, a refund rule, or a guarantee of availability for premium. Those points are not stated here, so a reader should not rely on this article for them. Check the official London Gatwick parking pages for the current rules.
Side-by-side summary
| Point | Standard short stay | Premium short stay |
|---|---|---|
| Documented access feature | Not separately described in the bundle beyond Short Stay car parks being recommended for picking up | Same-level access to both the North and South Terminals for added ease |
| Blue Badge rule | Blue Badge parking is available in every car park | Blue Badge holders can use Premium Short Stay at the standard Short Stay rate for up to four hours |
| Step-free access | All car parks and shuttle services are fully compliant with the Equality Act | Same, plus same-level access to both terminals |
| Price information in bundle | From £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay (roll-up) | Not stated in the bundle |
How to decide
Use the bundle facts as a checklist. First, ask whether same-level access to both the North and South Terminals matters for your journey. If it does, premium short stay is the option the official description ties to that benefit. Second, if you are a Blue Badge holder, check the four-hour rule and the Assistance button process, because that changes what you pay for a short visit. Third, if price is the deciding factor, note that the bundle does not state the premium price or the difference, so you must check the official pages before deciding.
For broader comparisons, the compare section can help you line up options, and the products section can help you review the official product pages. Always confirm current prices, limits, and rules on the official London Gatwick pages, because the bundle is a snapshot checked on 2026-10-06 and may not reflect later changes.
What is not stated here
- The premium short stay price is not stated in the bundle.
- The price difference between standard and premium short stay is not stated.
- A full list of premium-only features beyond same-level terminal access is not stated.
- Any cancellation, refund, or availability guarantee for premium is not stated.
- What happens after the four-hour Blue Badge window is not stated.
For each of these, check the official London Gatwick parking pages, including the Parking FAQs and the Roll-Up Car Park Prices page, before you book.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Roll-Up Car Park Prices. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →