Airport Parking Help · UK
Comparison · 2026-10-06

On-Airport vs Off-Airport Parking: How to Compare Fairly

A comparison of official on-airport car parks and third-party off-airport options, covering why travellers pick the official car park, what they give up elsewhere, and the checks needed before booking.

Choosing where to leave your car before a flight usually comes down to two broad choices: an official car park operated at the airport itself, or a third-party car park located off the airport estate. The two are not interchangeable, and the differences that matter most are often the ones that official pages describe in passing rather than in a headline price. This article sets out the tradeoffs that the official pages let you judge, and flags the points you must verify elsewhere before you commit.

Why use the official car park

The strongest argument for an official car park is that its rules are published by the airport itself, so you can read the terms before you travel rather than discovering them at the barrier. London Gatwick Airport's parking pages, for example, publish a 'car park restrictions' section on each of its Parking pages, covering the operating rules for the individual car parks. That kind of published detail is the baseline a traveller should expect from any provider.

Official car parks also tend to be described in terms of physical specification. Gatwick states that in its Long Stay, Mid Stay and Short Stay car parks, parking spaces are standard size, at 2.4 metres wide and 4.8 metres long. It adds that Premium Short Stay car parks offer extra-wide bays for added convenience. Those are concrete, checkable facts: if you drive a large vehicle, or need room to open doors with children or mobility equipment, a published bay dimension is more useful than a marketing adjective.

A further advantage of the official setup is clarity about how you pay and when. Gatwick's FAQ explains that its Short Stay and Long Stay car parks have payment machines at the exit barrier which accept card payments only, while Mid Stay and Robotic Parking are pre-book only. That distinction matters: if you turn up without a booking at a pre-book-only product, the published material suggests you will not be able to use it on the day. The same page notes that if you wish to park any longer than 2 hours, it recommends pre-booking Long Stay parking as far in advance as possible in order to enjoy the best rates. Note the wording — the airport recommends booking early for the best rates; it does not publish a specific figure here, so any claim about how much you save by booking early is not stated in this evidence and must be checked on the official booking page.

There is also a free window that is specific to the official operation. Gatwick states that if you are picking up or dropping off someone for the airport, you can park in the North or South Terminal Long Stay car park for up to 2 hours for free, and that after 2 hours you will pay the Roll-up rate if you have not pre-booked. This is a genuine, published concession attached to the airport's own car parks. Whether a third-party off-airport site matches it is not something the official pages address, and it is one of the first things to confirm with any alternative provider.

What do I give up elsewhere

The honest answer is that the evidence bundle for this article does not describe third-party off-airport car parks at all. It contains an official airport parking FAQ and a UK Civil Aviation Authority consumer-rights page. Neither source sets out the terms, restrictions, bay sizes, payment methods or transfer arrangements of independent off-airport operators. So anything specific about what an off-airport site does or does not include — shuttle frequency, whether the car park is fenced, whether keys are retained, what happens if your flight is delayed — is not stated here and must be verified with the operator directly and, where relevant, with the airport.

What we can say from the official material is what the official car park gives you that you would need to look for elsewhere. Published bay dimensions, published restriction sections, published payment arrangements and a published free two-hour window for pick-up and drop-off are all features of the official product as described. If you move off-airport, you are not automatically giving these up, but you are no longer reading them on the airport's own page, and you cannot assume they carry across.

One area where the official pages are notably silent is consumer protection for the parking transaction itself. The CAA's consumer rights and obligations page covers flight delays and cancellations, stating that as a consumer you have important legal rights when the flight you are booked on is delayed or cancelled. It does not address car parking contracts. A reader who wants to understand their position if a parking provider fails, or if a booking is not honoured, should not assume the CAA page covers it; the bundle does not say it does.

Practically, then, the tradeoffs you can judge from official pages are: certainty of published rules and dimensions, a known payment method, and a known free pick-up/drop-off window. The tradeoffs you cannot judge from these pages are everything about the alternative — and that gap is where most of the risk sits.

How do I compare fairly

Fair comparison starts by comparing like with like. A headline rate for an off-airport car park is not comparable to an official rate unless you also know what the rate includes, how you get to the terminal, and what happens if your plans change. The official pages give you a template for the questions to ask, because they answer several of them for their own products.

Use the following checklist, drawn from the categories the official pages actually publish:

Second, compare on total journey rather than total price. The official pages describe the car park, not the transfer, so if you are weighing an off-airport site you will need to establish the transfer arrangements yourself. The bundle does not state transfer times, shuttle frequencies or distances for any provider, so no comparison of those can be made from this evidence.

Third, be explicit about what you are not comparing. If one option publishes its rules and the other does not, that asymmetry is itself information. A provider that will not state its bay dimensions, payment terms or restriction policy in writing is asking you to accept a risk you cannot quantify.

Finally, do not rely on this article for anything the bundle does not contain. Prices, cancellation terms, refund rights, insurance, liability limits, security arrangements and transfer logistics are all absent from the evidence used here. For those, go to the official airport parking pages and to the individual operator's own terms. For flight-related rights, the CAA consumer rights and obligations page is the relevant starting point, but note again that it addresses flight delays and cancellations, not car parking contracts.

If you are still deciding between specific products, our comparison pages set options side by side, and our about page explains how we source and check the material we use.

What you must verify elsewhere

The bundle is silent on a number of points that will decide your booking. It does not state any price or fee for either an official or an off-airport car park. It does not state cancellation, amendment or refund terms for parking. It does not state whether off-airport operators are accredited, insured or bonded. It does not state transfer times, shuttle frequency or distance from any car park to any terminal. It does not state opening times for the car parks in full — the Gatwick excerpt begins a sentence about opening times but is cut off before any times are given, so no opening hours can be quoted from this evidence.

For each of those, check the official airport parking page for the airport you are using, and check the individual operator's terms for any third-party site. The Gatwick parking FAQ is published at gatwickairport.com/Airport_Parking, and that is where the bay dimensions, restrictions, payment methods and the two-hour free period described above are stated. Anything beyond that — including any figure for savings from early booking — is not stated here and must be confirmed on the booking page itself.

In short: the official pages let you judge the official product precisely, and they let you infer the questions to ask of any alternative. They do not let you judge the alternative itself. Treat that gap as the thing to close before you book.

Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Consumer rights and obligations and Parking FAQs. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.

Apply this to your journey

Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.

Compare parking →