If you are trying to work out how the price of airport parking moves as a stay gets longer, the first thing to understand is that published price lists do not always work like a simple daily rate. This article looks at what the evidence bundle actually says about duration and price at London Gatwick, and it separates the question of the first day from the question of extra days. Where the bundle is silent, that is stated plainly, with a pointer to the official page a reader should check.
The short answer: does it get cheaper per day?
The evidence bundle does not contain a statement that the price per day falls as the stay gets longer. There is no published per-day rate schedule in the bundle, no worked example of a multi-day stay, and no wording that says a longer stay is charged at a lower daily rate. So on the specific question “does it get cheaper per day”, the honest answer from this evidence is: it is not stated here. A reader who needs that answer must check the official London Gatwick parking pages directly.
What the bundle does show is that London Gatwick publishes a set of roll-up prices for its car parks, and that those prices are presented as a list rather than as a daily rate formula. The Roll-Up Car Park Prices page says that the roll-up prices are “the same across both the North and South Terminal”. That tells us the price basis is published per car park type and is not varied by terminal, but it does not tell us how the price scales with the number of days.
What “roll-up” means in this context
Roll-up pricing is the price you pay when you arrive without a booking. The same Roll-Up Car Park Prices page explains the booking advice that sits alongside it: “We always advise booking car parking more than 24 hours away from your arrival time to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons.” It then adds that the airport understands “that sometimes the unexpected happens and you might need to arrive at one of our car parks without a booking.”
This matters for the duration question because it tells you that the published roll-up list is a fallback price basis, not necessarily the price basis you would see for a pre-booked stay. The bundle does not give a separate pre-booked price schedule, so any comparison between roll-up and pre-booked pricing over a longer stay is not stated here. Readers comparing the two should start from the official parking pages.
The first day: what the bundle actually prices
The bundle contains one concrete entry price point, and it is a short-duration one. The Roll-Up Car Park Prices page states: “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay or get two hours free at Long Stay.” That is the only numeric price entry in the evidence bundle.
So, on the question “what is the first day priced at”, the evidence does not give a first-day price. It gives:
- A Short Stay entry point of from £8 for 30 minutes.
- A Long Stay offer of two hours free.
Neither of those is a full-day price. A 30-minute Short Stay charge and a two-hour free Long Stay window are both sub-day figures. The bundle does not state what a full first day costs in any car park, and it does not state whether the first day is charged at the same rate as subsequent days. Any reader who needs a first-day figure must check the official London Gatwick parking pages, because it is not stated here.
Extra days: what the bundle says
On the question “how do extra days price”, the evidence bundle is silent. There is no wording about a second day, a third day, a weekly rate, a per-day increment, or any tiered structure. The bundle does not say that extra days are cheaper, more expensive, or the same as the first day.
What the bundle does say, in the Long Stay Parking page, is that the airport offers a range of parking options: “All parking options Short Stay Parking Long Stay Parking Mid Stay Parking Valet Parking Premium Parking Robotic Parking”, along with North Terminal and South Terminal variants and “Blue Badge parking options”. It also states that the airport offers “competitive pricing and complete peace of mind while you're away” and invites readers to “Book now”.
That tells us the product range is broad, but it does not tell us how any of those products price an extra day. The phrase “competitive pricing” is not a numeric statement and cannot be turned into a per-day figure. So the extra-day question remains not stated here.
Why the bundle cannot answer the per-day question
There are three structural reasons the evidence cannot support a per-day claim, and it is worth naming them so a reader understands the limit of what is being said.
- No rate card. The bundle includes an entry point (“from £8 for 30 minutes”) and a free window (“two hours free at Long Stay”), but no table of prices by duration.
- No duration language. Neither excerpt uses words like “per day”, “daily”, “each additional day”, “weekly”, or “longer stays cost less”.
- No worked example. There is no sample itinerary such as a three-day or seven-day stay with a total price attached.
Because of those gaps, any statement that the price “gets cheaper per day” would be an invention. The correct reference answer is that the relationship between stay length and published price basis is not established by this evidence, and the first day versus extra days split cannot be quantified from it.
What the bundle does establish
It is worth being precise about the facts that are supported, because they are still useful when reading a price list.
| Point | What the evidence says |
|---|---|
| Price basis published | Roll-up prices for each car park |
| Terminal variation | Roll-up prices are “the same across both the North and South Terminal” |
| Short Stay entry point | “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay” |
| Long Stay short window | “get two hours free at Long Stay” |
| Booking advice | Book “more than 24 hours away from your arrival time” for best rates and a guaranteed space |
| Drop-off charge | “A minimum £10 charge now applies” |
| First-day price | Not stated in the bundle |
| Extra-day price | Not stated in the bundle |
| Per-day reduction with length of stay | Not stated in the bundle |
Two of the rows above are worth expanding. First, the drop-off point: the Roll-Up Car Park Prices page says the drop-off zones are “located directly outside the airport terminals” and that “A minimum £10 charge now applies”. That is a separate charge from parking and is not a duration-based parking price, so it should not be folded into a per-day calculation.
Second, the booking advice is time-based rather than duration-based. The advice to book “more than 24 hours away from your arrival time” is about how far in advance you book, not about how long you stay. A reader researching duration pricing should not confuse the two.
How to use this when comparing options
If your reader task is “I want to know how the price moves as the stay gets longer”, the practical route is:
- Start from the published price basis for the car park you are considering, using the official pages rather than a third-party summary.
- Treat the first day and extra days as separate unknowns until you see a schedule that explicitly prices them.
- Do not assume a per-day reduction. The evidence bundle does not support that assumption.
- Check the official London Gatwick pages named in this article for the actual figures, because the bundle does not carry them.
For side-by-side comparison of parking products, see /compare/. For the general pricing reference, see /pricing/. Both are internal pages of this site and neither adds facts beyond the evidence bundle; they are navigation aids.
Where to verify
The two official pages cited in this article are the Roll-Up Car Park Prices page at gatwickairport.com/parking/roll-up-car-park-prices.html and the Long Stay Parking page at gatwickairport.com/parking/parking-long-stay.html. Both were checked on 2026-10-06 for this article. A reader who needs a first-day figure, an extra-day figure, or confirmation of whether the daily rate falls with stay length must consult those pages, because the evidence bundle used here does not state any of those values.
Summary
On the evidence available: the bundle publishes a roll-up price basis that is the same across both terminals, an entry point of “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay”, a “two hours free at Long Stay” window, and a drop-off charge of “A minimum £10”. It does not state a first-day price, does not state how extra days price, and does not state that the price gets cheaper per day as the stay lengthens. Those three points are the direct answers to the reader task, and each is answered here as not stated in the bundle rather than guessed.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Long Stay Parking and Roll-Up Car Park Prices. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →