Heathrow Terminal Parking is one of several official parking products at the airport, and the name tells you most of what you need to know: it is the option positioned closest to the terminal buildings. According to Heathrow Airport's own Terminal Parking page, the car parks are "just a short distance from the arrivals and departures areas of all terminals". That short distance is the whole point of the product, and it is the main reason travellers choose it over the cheaper Park & Ride alternatives.
If you are working out whether Terminal Parking is right for your trip, the practical questions are simple. What exactly is it? Do you walk to the terminal or ride a bus? And who does it actually suit? This article answers those three questions using Heathrow's published information, and flags the points the airport does not spell out so you know where to check before booking.
What is Heathrow Terminal Parking?
Terminal Parking is an official Heathrow parking product that places your car in a car park close to the terminal you are flying from. Heathrow's Terminal Parking page describes the car parks as being "just a short distance from the arrivals and departures areas of all terminals", and the airport's wider parking overview confirms that the product was formerly known as Short Stay. That former name is a useful clue to how the product is designed: it is built around proximity and shorter, more convenient stays rather than the lowest possible price.
The product is not available at every terminal. According to the Heathrow Parking overview page, all terminals (2, 3, 4 and 5) have a Park & Ride car park, but Terminal Parking is listed for Terminals 2, 3 and 5 only. The same overview lists Terminal Parking among the options at Terminal 2 and Terminal 3, and notes that Terminal 5 has the most products available, with Pod Parking in addition to all the other products. Terminal 4's listed options are Park & Ride and the Terminal Drop-Off Area. In other words, if you are flying from Terminal 4, Terminal Parking is not one of the products Heathrow lists for you.
Two other features are worth knowing because they affect how the product feels to use. Heathrow states that Terminal Parking car parks have "frequent security patrols, bright lighting and up-to-date technologies" to keep passengers and vehicles safe. It also states that you keep your keys with you, described as being "for extra peace of mind". That distinguishes Terminal Parking from valet-style products where the keys are handed over.
Do you walk to the terminal?
This is the question most travellers care about, and the honest answer from the evidence available is: Heathrow describes the car parks as being a short distance from the terminal areas, but the published excerpt does not explicitly say whether every user walks or whether a transfer is involved. What it does say is that the car parks are located "just a short distance from the arrivals and departures areas of all terminals". The phrase "short distance" is the airport's own wording, and it is the closest the source comes to describing the walk.
Because the evidence bundle does not contain a step-by-step description of the route from car park to check-in, this article cannot tell you the exact walking time, whether there are lifts, or whether any specific bay requires a shuttle. Those details are not stated here. If walking distance is decisive for you, check the official Heathrow Terminal Parking page before you book, and look for the specific terminal you are using, because the layout differs by terminal.
The contrast with Park & Ride is clearer. Park & Ride products, listed for all terminals, are the ones where you park and then transfer to the terminal, which is why they are generally positioned as the value option. Terminal Parking's selling point, as Heathrow describes it, is that you are already near the arrivals and departures areas. If your priority is to minimise the transfer rather than minimise the price, Terminal Parking is the product aimed at you. You can compare the two approaches side by side using our comparison pages.
Who is Terminal Parking for?
Heathrow's own framing points to a few clear audiences.
- Short-stay and convenience-led travellers. Terminal Parking was formerly called Short Stay, and the airport's pricing structure treats very short visits as a distinct case. According to the Terminal Parking page, stays of less than nine hours cannot be pre-booked and must be paid for at ticket machines in the car parks or at the exit gates. That design suits people making quick trips rather than people parking for a fortnight.
- People doing pick-ups and drop-offs. Heathrow explicitly highlights the short-stay rate as making Terminal Parking "a great option for pick-ups and drop-offs", and adds that for maximum convenience it recommends making pick-ups from its Terminal Parking car parks. If you are collecting or delivering someone and want to be close to the terminal, this is the product Heathrow itself points you towards.
- Travellers who value proximity over price. The car parks are described as a short distance from arrivals and departures, and you keep your keys. For anyone who would rather not hand over keys or wait for a transfer, those two features are the appeal.
- Passengers flying from Terminals 2, 3 or 5. These are the terminals where the product is listed. Terminal 5 in particular has the widest range of official products, including Pod Parking alongside the others.
Who is it not for? The evidence does not support a strong claim either way, but two practical points follow from what Heathrow publishes. First, if you are flying from Terminal 4, Terminal Parking is not among the listed options, so you would be looking at Park & Ride or the Terminal Drop-Off Area instead. Second, if your main goal is the lowest possible cost for a longer trip, the airport's own structure separates Terminal Parking from the Park & Ride products, and Heathrow states that booking in advance can produce "big savings against our drive-up or on-the-day prices".
Booking, pricing and what the evidence does not cover
Heathrow states that Official Heathrow Parking can be booked up to a year in advance of your stay, and that booking in advance at any point before your stay can save money against drive-up or on-the-day prices. It also states that prices for Terminal Parking vary depending on your length of stay and whether you pre-book or pay drive-up prices.
On the specific numbers, the bundle contains one concrete figure: up to 30 minutes costs £8.00 at the time the page was checked. Beyond that, the full price table is referenced by Heathrow but not reproduced in the evidence available here, so this article does not state any other price. It also does not state any maximum stay, height restriction, cancellation term or refund rule, because none of those appear in the evidence bundle. Those are exactly the details you should confirm on the official Heathrow pages before committing, since they can change and can differ by terminal and product.
One rule the evidence does state clearly: stays under nine hours cannot be pre-booked and should be paid for at ticket machines or the exit gates in the Terminal Parking car parks. If your stay is under that threshold, planning to pre-book online will not work, and you should expect to pay on exit instead.
How Terminal Parking fits with the other Heathrow options
Heathrow's parking overview sets out the full menu by terminal. Terminals 2 and 3 offer Terminal Parking, Park & Ride, Priority Park & Ride, Meet & Greet and Valet Parking, plus the Terminal Drop-Off Area. Terminal 5 offers all of those plus Pod Parking. Terminal 4 offers Park & Ride and the Terminal Drop-Off Area. Every terminal has a Park & Ride car park.
Seen against that menu, Terminal Parking sits in the middle of the convenience ladder: closer and more expensive than Park & Ride, but without the hand-over and service elements of Meet & Greet or Valet Parking. For a traveller who wants to park, keep their keys and be near the terminal, it is the straightforward official choice where it is offered. Our product pages break down how these categories differ.
If you want to read the source material directly, the two pages behind this article are Heathrow Airport's Terminal Parking page and its Heathrow Parking overview. Both were checked on 6 October 2026. Anything not covered here, including full pricing, should be confirmed there.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Heathrow Parking and Terminal Parking. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →