Airport Parking Help · UK
Heathrow · 2026-10-06

Heathrow Parking Options: An Overview of Official Products

A plain-English overview of the official Heathrow parking products, which terminals they serve, and what changes the price.

If you are trying to get the full picture of Heathrow parking before you book, the first thing to understand is that "Heathrow parking" is not one product. Heathrow Airport lists several distinct official products, and they are not all available at every terminal. This overview walks through what each product is for, which terminal offers it, and what the evidence says about the things that move the price.

Everything below is drawn from Heathrow Airport's own parking pages. Where the evidence does not cover a point, that is flagged, along with the official page a reader should check.

What parking is available at Heathrow?

According to Heathrow Airport, the official product list is: Terminal Parking, Park & Ride, Priority Park & Ride, Meet & Greet Parking, Valet Parking, Pod Parking and the Terminal Drop-Off Area. The same source notes that not all of these are available in every terminal.

Availability by terminal

The Heathrow overview page sets out the split clearly. All terminals — Terminal 2, Terminal 3, Terminal 4 and Terminal 5 — have a Park & Ride car park. Terminals 2 and 3 also offer Terminal Parking, Priority Park & Ride, Meet & Greet and Valet Parking. Terminal 5 has the most products available, with Pod Parking in addition to all the other products.

The overview page's own terminal lists read as follows:

TerminalProducts listed
Terminal 2Terminal Parking (formerly Short Stay), Park & Ride (formerly Long Stay), Priority Park & Ride (formerly Business), Meet & Greet Parking, Valet Parking, Terminal Drop-Off Area
Terminal 3Terminal Parking (formerly Short Stay), Park & Ride (formerly Long Stay), Priority Park & Ride (formerly Business), Meet & Greet Parking, Valet Parking, Terminal Drop-Off Area
Terminal 4Park & Ride (formerly Long Stay), Terminal Drop-Off Area
Terminal 5Pod Parking in addition to all the other products

Note the naming: Heathrow uses "formerly" labels for several products, so Terminal Parking was formerly Short Stay, Park & Ride was formerly Long Stay, and Priority Park & Ride was formerly Business. If you are comparing older guides or older booking screens, those older names may still appear.

One caution: the Terminal 5 row in the overview excerpt says Terminal 5 has Pod Parking "in addition to all the other products" rather than repeating the full list. The excerpt does not spell out each Terminal 5 product name individually. If you need the exact Terminal 5 list, check the official Heathrow parking page directly.

Which product should I pick?

The evidence bundle does not include a Heathrow-authored recommendation matrix that maps every trip type to a product. What it does give is a set of product descriptions and one explicit recommendation, so the honest answer is: match the product to the job you need done, and check the official page for the current details of each.

Terminal Parking — the closest option

Heathrow's Terminal Parking page describes these car parks as being "just a short distance from the arrivals and departures areas of all terminals." It also notes that you keep your keys with you, and that the car parks have regular security patrols, frequent security patrols, bright lighting and up-to-date technologies. If your priority is being close to the terminal and keeping your keys, Terminal Parking is the product the evidence points to.

There is an important timing rule attached to Terminal Parking. Shorter stays of less than nine hours can only be paid for at ticket machines in the car parks or at the exit gates, and stays under 9 hours cannot be pre-booked. That means if you are doing a very short stay, the advance-booking route is not open to you for this product.

Terminal Parking is also positioned for pick-ups and drop-offs. Heathrow states that up to 30 minutes costs £8.00, "making for a great option for pick-ups and drop-offs," and adds that for maximum convenience it recommends making pick-ups from its Terminal Parking car parks. That is the only price point given in this evidence bundle, and it applies to the up-to-30-minutes Terminal Parking stay.

Park & Ride — the one product at every terminal

Park & Ride is the only product Heathrow's overview confirms at all four terminals. If you are travelling from Terminal 4, the overview's Terminal 4 list contains only Park & Ride and the Terminal Drop-Off Area, so Park & Ride is the main official car park product shown for that terminal. The bundle does not describe Park & Ride's transfer arrangements, so if you need to know how the ride part works, check the official Heathrow parking page.

Priority Park & Ride, Meet & Greet and Valet — Terminal 2 and Terminal 3

Priority Park & Ride (formerly Business), Meet & Greet Parking and Valet Parking are listed for Terminals 2 and 3. The bundle does not explain what each of these includes, how the handover works, or how they differ from standard Park & Ride. Those details are not stated here and should be checked on the official Heathrow parking pages before booking.

Pod Parking — Terminal 5 only in this evidence

Pod Parking appears in the overview only in connection with Terminal 5, described as an addition to all the other products. The bundle does not describe the pods, their route or their capacity, so those specifics are not stated here.

Terminal Drop-Off Area

The Terminal Drop-Off Area is listed for Terminals 2, 3 and 4 in the overview excerpt. The excerpt does not state a price, time limit or rule for the Terminal Drop-Off Area, so if you need those numbers, check the official Heathrow parking page.

What changes the price?

The evidence identifies two clear price levers, and both come from Heathrow's own pages.

1. Booking in advance versus paying on the day

Heathrow states that you can "make big savings against our drive-up or on-the-day prices by booking our parking in advance at any point before your stay," and that Official Heathrow Parking can be booked up to a year in advance of your stay. So the booking channel — advance versus drive-up or on-the-day — is a price factor. The bundle does not give the size of the saving or a percentage, so any specific saving figure is not stated here.

2. Length of stay

Heathrow's Terminal Parking page states that prices for Heathrow Terminal Parking "vary depending on your length of stay and whether you are pre-booking or paying our drive-up prices." That confirms length of stay as a second price factor, at least for Terminal Parking. The bundle does not provide a full price table, so the individual price for any given stay length other than the up-to-30-minutes figure is not stated here.

Other possible price factors

Product choice is a practical factor in what you pay, because the products themselves differ, but the bundle does not publish a price for each product. It also does not cover seasonal pricing, cancellation terms, refunds, amendments or any fees. Those points are not stated here and must be checked on the official Heathrow parking page before you book.

How to use this overview

Start with your terminal, because that determines which products are even available to you. Terminal 4 travellers in this evidence have Park & Ride and the Terminal Drop-Off Area listed. Terminal 2 and Terminal 3 travellers have the widest choice alongside Terminal 5, with Terminal 5 adding Pod Parking. Then match the product to the job: short and close means Terminal Parking, with its under-nine-hours rule; a longer trip where you do not need to be adjacent to the terminal points towards Park & Ride; and the premium or handover-style products are the ones to research individually if they matter to you.

Finally, remember the booking window. Heathrow says official parking can be booked up to a year in advance, and that advance booking is where the savings against drive-up prices come from. If your stay is under nine hours, Terminal Parking cannot be pre-booked and must be paid at the ticket machines or exit gates.

For the current product set and any price or rule not covered here, go to the official pages: Heathrow Parking and Terminal Parking. For side-by-side product comparisons, see our products and compare pages.

Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Heathrow Parking and Terminal Parking. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.

Apply this to your journey

Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.

Compare parking →