If you are choosing where to leave your car before a flight from Heathrow, the two options most often weighed up against each other are Park & Ride and Terminal Parking. They are different products with different mechanics, and Heathrow Airport describes each of them on its own pages. This article sets out what each one is, how the transfer works, and where the two descriptions differ — using only what the airport itself publishes.
What is Heathrow Park & Ride?
Park & Ride is a model in which you leave your car in a car park and travel to your terminal by bus. That is the defining feature: the car park and the terminal are not the same place, and the link between them is a designated shuttle service.
Heathrow's own description of the arrival process explains what happens at the car park end. On returning to the car park you proceed to the exit, and, in the airport's words, "The registration will be recognised, opening the barrier." The same passage notes that "You may need to provide your booking reference details if additional assistance is required." So the exit is described as an automatic, registration-based process, with the booking reference as the fallback if something needs to be looked up by a person.
The booking journey is also described on the same page. Heathrow states that after paying you "will receive a confirmation email containing further useful information to make your trip easier," and that you "can make free amendments or cancel your booking up to two-hours before your scheduled arrival time." It also notes that at the booking stage you "can also choose to upgrade your choice or add Fast Track security or a Lounge."
One related product appears on the same page under the heading "Park and Fly – Heathrow Hotel & Parking." The bundle does not describe how that product works, so if you are comparing a hotel-and-parking package with a straightforward Park & Ride booking, that detail is not stated here and you should check the official Heathrow Park & Ride page.
How do the Park & Ride buses work?
This is the part of the model that most affects your timings, so it is worth reading carefully. Heathrow publishes specific bus stop locations for each terminal on the arrivals forecourt:
| Terminal | Park & Ride pick-up location |
|---|---|
| Terminal 2 | Bus stop 5/6 |
| Terminal 3 | Bus stop 14/15 |
| Terminal 4 | Bus stop 3 |
| Terminal 5 | Bus stop 21 |
Two operational instructions sit alongside those stops. First, "On boarding the bus, tell the driver which zone you have parked in." Second, there is an out-of-hours arrangement: "During out-of-hours periods (23:30-04:00), you may need to call to request a transfer on 020 8745 6261."
On the question of frequency, the evidence bundle does not state a bus interval, a timetable or a maximum wait. Heathrow's Park & Ride page as captured here gives the pick-up points, the zone instruction and the out-of-hours phone number, but no headway figure. If the interval between buses matters to your decision — for example if you are arriving late at night or travelling with a tight connection — that is not stated here and you must check the official Heathrow Park & Ride page for current timings before you book. The out-of-hours window quoted above is the only timing rule the bundle contains, and it is a rule about requesting a transfer, not about how often buses run.
What is Heathrow Terminal Parking?
Terminal Parking is the on-airport product where the car park itself sits next to the terminal. Heathrow's description is explicit about proximity: "Our Terminal Parking car parks are just a short distance from the arrivals and departures areas of all terminals." There is no shuttle element described, because the car park and the terminal are described as being close together.
The same page sets out three further characteristics. On security: "Frequent security patrols, bright lighting and up-to-date technologies keep our passengers and their vehicles safe." On keys: "Keep your keys with you for extra peace of mind." And on payment structure, Heathrow states that "Shorter stays of less than nine hours can only be paid for at ticket machines in the car parks or at the exit gates," repeated as "Stays under 9 hours cannot be pre-booked and should be paid for at ticket machines or the exit gates in the Terminal Parking car parks."
Heathrow also notes that "Prices for Heathrow Terminal Parking vary depending on your length of stay and whether you are pre-booking or paying our drive-up prices, which can be viewed in the table below." One price is given in the excerpt: "Up to 30 minutes costs £8.00, making for a great option for pick-ups and drop-offs." That is the only figure in the bundle, and it relates to a very short stay rather than a trip-length booking. No Park & Ride prices appear in the bundle at all.
How does Park & Ride compare with Terminal Parking?
Set side by side, the two Heathrow descriptions differ in four practical ways.
1. The transfer
Park & Ride involves a bus between the car park and the terminal, with published pick-up stops on each terminal's arrivals forecourt and an out-of-hours request line. Terminal Parking is described as being "just a short distance" from arrivals and departures, with no shuttle described. The trade-off is therefore between a bus transfer and a walk or very short transfer — but the bundle does not state walking times or distances in metres, so do not assume a figure. Check the official Terminal Parking page if proximity is the deciding factor.
2. Payment and booking rules
Terminal Parking carries a stated restriction: stays under nine hours cannot be pre-booked and must be paid at ticket machines or exit gates. Park & Ride, by contrast, is described through a booking flow that includes confirmation email, optional upgrades, and free amendments or cancellation up to two hours before your scheduled arrival time. Note carefully what the bundle does and does not say: it does not state whether Park & Ride has a minimum or maximum stay, and it does not state whether Terminal Parking bookings can be amended or cancelled. Those points are not covered here.
3. Security and keys
Heathrow describes security arrangements for Terminal Parking — frequent patrols, bright lighting and up-to-date technologies — and advises keeping your keys with you. The Park & Ride excerpt in this bundle does not describe security arrangements in the same way. That is a gap in the evidence, not a statement that Park & Ride is less secure. If security provision is central to your choice, compare the two official pages directly rather than relying on the absence of a description.
4. Cost structure
The bundle gives one Terminal Parking figure — £8.00 for up to 30 minutes — and explicitly says prices vary by length of stay and by whether you pre-book or pay drive-up rates. No Park & Ride price appears. Any cost comparison therefore has to be built from the live price tables on Heathrow's own pages, since the bundle does not support a like-for-like figure.
Which one should you book?
The descriptions point to a straightforward rule of thumb, and nothing more than that. If you want the car park next to the terminal and you are comfortable with the published Terminal Parking payment rules — including the nine-hour threshold for pre-booking — Terminal Parking is the product Heathrow describes as being just a short distance from arrivals and departures. If you are happy to park and take a designated bus, with the published pick-up stops and the out-of-hours request line, Park & Ride is the product Heathrow describes with that shuttle model.
What the bundle cannot tell you is which is cheaper for your dates, how long the bus takes, or how often it runs. Those are the three questions to resolve on the official pages before booking. You can also use our comparison hub to line up the options and our product pages to see how each Heathrow parking product is structured.
Where to verify the details
Because parking arrangements, prices and transfer times change, always confirm against the airport's own pages before you book:
- Heathrow Park & Ride — for pick-up stops, the out-of-hours transfer number, booking amendments and any bus frequency information.
- Heathrow Terminal Parking — for the current price table, the nine-hour rule on pre-booking, and the security arrangements described for those car parks.
Both pages were checked for this article on 6 October 2026. Anything not covered in the sections above — including bus frequency, Park & Ride pricing, and walking distances at the terminals — is not stated in the evidence used here and should be confirmed on those official pages.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Heathrow Park & Ride and Terminal Parking. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →