Short stay parking at Gatwick is not automatically the expensive option, and it is not automatically the right one either. The decision depends on how long you are leaving the car, how close you need to be to the terminal, and whether you have booked ahead. This article sets out when a short stay product is the sensible choice and where the cost curve turns, using only what the official Gatwick parking pages state.
What short stay parking actually is at Gatwick
Gatwick operates several official car parks. The Parking FAQs page groups Short Stay alongside Long Stay, Mid Stay, Premium Short Stay and Robotic Parking. Short Stay and Long Stay car parks have payment machines at the exit barrier which accept card payments only, while Mid Stay and Robotic Parking are pre-book only. That distinction matters for the short stay decision: if you arrive without a booking, Short Stay is one of the products where you can still pay on exit by card.
The same FAQ page states that parking spaces in the Long Stay, Mid Stay and Short Stay car parks are standard size, at 2.4 metres wide and 4.8 metres long. If you need more room, the Premium Short Stay car parks offer extra-wide bays. So within the short stay family there are two tiers: standard bays in Short Stay, and wider bays in Premium Short Stay.
When short stay is worth it
The bundle gives one clear use case. The Roll-Up Car Park Prices page states: “We recommend that you use the Short Stay car parks for picking” — the sentence is cut off in the evidence bundle at that point, but the recommendation is explicitly about picking up. The same page notes that drop-off zones are located directly outside the airport terminals and are the most convenient place for dropping off passengers quickly, with a minimum £10 charge applying. So for a quick pick-up where you want to be near the terminal, the official guidance points to Short Stay rather than the drop-off zone.
Short stay is also worth considering when you need flexibility on duration. The Parking FAQs page states plainly: “There is no minimum or maximum length of stay in our Short Stay car parks.” That is a meaningful difference from products that are pre-book only, and it means you are not locked into a fixed window. If your trip length is uncertain, or you are meeting someone whose flight time may move, that absence of a minimum or maximum is the practical argument for Short Stay.
A third case is arrival without a booking. The Roll-Up page says Gatwick always advises booking more than 24 hours ahead to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly in peak seasons, but acknowledges that sometimes the unexpected happens and you may need to arrive without a booking. Because Short Stay accepts card payment at the exit barrier, it remains an option in that scenario. The same page notes that if you wish to park longer than two hours in Long Stay, Gatwick recommends pre-booking Long Stay as far in advance as possible to enjoy the best rates — which underlines that the unbooked, flexible option is where Short Stay earns its place.
How close is it?
The bundle does not give a walking distance or a shuttle time for the Short Stay car parks. What it does say is that the drop-off zones are located directly outside the airport terminals, and that Gatwick recommends Short Stay for picking up. The Parking FAQs page also lists North and South Terminal Long Stay car parks as the place to park for up to two hours free if you are picking up or dropping off someone. So the bundle establishes that Short Stay is the recommended product for pick-ups and that drop-off zones sit directly outside the terminals, but it does not state a measured proximity figure for Short Stay itself.
If proximity is the deciding factor for you, the specific walking times and terminal-by-terminal locations are not stated in this evidence bundle. You should check the individual car park pages linked from the official Gatwick parking site for the current terminal-by-terminal details.
What does it cost?
The only price figure in the bundle is from the Roll-Up page: roll-up prices run “from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay”, and the same page notes you can get two hours free at Long Stay. The Roll-Up page also states that roll-up prices are the same across both the North and South Terminal.
Two cautions follow from that. First, “from £8” is a starting figure for 30 minutes of Short Stay on the roll-up tariff; the bundle does not list the full Short Stay price ladder, so longer durations, daily rates and weekly rates are not stated here. Second, roll-up pricing is the price you pay without a booking. The Roll-Up page explicitly advises booking more than 24 hours ahead to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons. That means the £8 figure is not a benchmark for pre-booked Short Stay.
For pre-booked Short Stay rates, and for Premium Short Stay rates, the bundle is silent. You must check the official Gatwick parking pages for current prices before making a decision.
Where the cost curve turns
The bundle does not contain a price table, so it is not possible to state the exact duration at which Short Stay becomes more expensive than Long Stay. What the evidence does support is the shape of the decision.
On the roll-up tariff, £8 buys 30 minutes of Short Stay, while Long Stay gives two hours free for pick-up or drop-off. That is the clearest turning point the bundle identifies: at the very short end, Long Stay is free for up to two hours, and Short Stay is charged from £8 for 30 minutes. So for a stay measured in minutes rather than hours, the free Long Stay window is the cheaper route on the evidence given.
The curve turns back toward Short Stay when the free Long Stay window no longer fits your task. The Parking FAQs page states that after two hours in Long Stay you will pay the roll-up rate if you have not pre-booked, and that if you wish to park any longer than two hours, Gatwick recommends pre-booking Long Stay as far in advance as possible to enjoy the best rates. So beyond two hours, the comparison becomes pre-booked Long Stay against Short Stay — and the bundle does not give the figures needed to say which wins at any specific duration.
What the bundle does establish is that the comparison is not simply “Short Stay is expensive, Long Stay is cheap.” It is a comparison between a product with no minimum or maximum length of stay and card payment on exit, and a product with a free two-hour window and a strong pre-booking incentive. The sensible way to frame it is:
- Very short stays, pick-ups and drop-offs: Long Stay is free for up to two hours if you have not pre-booked, so it is the cheaper option on the evidence given.
- Pick-ups where convenience is the priority: Gatwick recommends the Short Stay car parks for picking up, and the drop-off zones sit directly outside the terminals.
- Uncertain or flexible duration: Short Stay has no minimum or maximum length of stay, and accepts card payment at the exit barrier without a booking.
- Longer trips: The bundle does not contain the pre-booked price tables needed to compare Short Stay against Long Stay, so check the official pages before deciding.
Practical checks before you book
Because the bundle is silent on several points that matter, the following are the checks a reader should make on the official pages rather than relying on this article:
- Current pre-booked Short Stay and Premium Short Stay prices for your exact dates, since the bundle only gives the roll-up starting figure.
- The full roll-up price ladder for Short Stay, since the bundle only states the 30-minute starting price.
- Walking distances and terminal locations for the Short Stay car parks, which the bundle does not state.
- Whether your dates fall in a peak season, given the explicit advice to book more than 24 hours ahead to secure the best rates and guarantee a space.
If you are comparing products across the airport, the comparison pages and the product pages on this site set out the options side by side. The official source for prices and restrictions remains the Gatwick parking site, and the car park restrictions section on each individual parking page is where the airport itself directs readers for the detail.
The short answer
Short stay wins when you are picking someone up, when you need to be close to the terminal, when you cannot commit to a fixed duration, or when you are arriving without a booking and need to pay on exit by card. It loses on the very short end of the curve, where Long Stay offers two hours free for pick-up or drop-off, and it becomes hard to judge beyond two hours because the bundle does not include the pre-booked price tables. The only price the bundle gives is the roll-up Short Stay starting figure of £8 for 30 minutes; everything else must be checked on the official Gatwick parking pages.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Roll-Up Car Park Prices. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →