If you are wondering whether you can simply drive to London Gatwick and park without a reservation, the short answer from the airport's own guidance is that you can — but it is not the option it recommends. Gatwick publishes a dedicated page of roll-up prices for exactly this situation, and its parking FAQs repeat the same advice: pre-book for the best rate.
This article sets out what the official sources do and do not say about turning up unannounced, how the two routes differ, and what remains unstated so you know which page to check yourself.
Can I just turn up without a booking?
Yes. Gatwick explicitly acknowledges that drivers may arrive without a reservation. On its roll-up prices page it writes: "We understand however that sometimes the unexpected happens and you might need to arrive at one of our car parks without a booking." The same page then publishes roll-up prices for each of its car parks, described as "the same across both the North and South Terminal."
The parking FAQs confirm the same position from the other direction: "should you need to arrive without a booking, our Roll-up prices can be viewed online." So turning up is a recognised, priced option rather than something the airport treats as impossible.
What the bundle does not tell us is whether a space is guaranteed on any given day. The roll-up page advises booking "more than 24 hours away from your arrival time" in order to "secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons." That wording ties a guarantee of a space to booking in advance, not to arriving unbooked. Whether an unbooked driver would be turned away on a busy day is not stated in these sources, so if that risk matters to you, check the official roll-up page before you travel.
Is drive-up more expensive?
The bundle does not put a like-for-like figure on drive-up versus pre-booked parking, so no direct price comparison can be made here. What the sources do say is directional and consistent.
The roll-up page states: "We always advise booking car parking more than 24 hours away from your arrival time to secure the best possible rates and guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons." The parking FAQs put it just as plainly: "It is always recommended to pre-book your parking online for the best rate."
Both statements link pre-booking to the best rate. Neither states a percentage saving, a fixed difference in pounds, or a rule that drive-up is always more expensive on every date and stay length. The FAQs also note that "The cost of parking at London Gatwick varies by car park, date of travel and length of stay," which means any comparison depends on your specific dates.
For the figures that do exist, see the pricing page, and for a broader view of the options see the comparison section. The bundle does include some roll-up tariff points: the roll-up page mentions "from £8 for 30 minutes of Short Stay" and "two hours free at Long Stay." These are roll-up prices as published, not a comparison against pre-booked rates, and the page says to "Explore the full range of roll-up prices below" for the rest. The full tariff is not reproduced in this bundle, so the complete roll-up price list must be read on the official page.
What do I risk by not booking?
Three things emerge from the evidence, and one thing does not.
1. You may not get the best rate. Both official sources connect pre-booking with the best rate. Turning up is the fallback the airport describes, not the route it recommends for price.
2. A space is not described as guaranteed. The roll-up page frames booking more than 24 hours ahead as the way to "guarantee a space, particularly during peak seasons." The unbooked arrival is described as something that happens when "the unexpected" occurs, which is not the language of a guaranteed reservation.
3. You lose the flexibility rules attached to online bookings. The parking FAQs state: "You can change or cancel any booking made on our website up to 24 hours before your time of arrival," managed through myGatwick under 'Order History'. A drive-up customer has no booking to amend or cancel under that described process. The FAQs also note that "If there is a difference in price for your amended booking, for example if you move your parking booking to a different arri" — the excerpt is cut off at that point, so the full rule on price differences for amendments is not available here and should be read on the official parking FAQs.
What is not stated: the bundle says nothing about whether drive-up customers can be refused entry when a car park is full, nothing about waiting times at barriers, and nothing about a surcharge applied specifically for not booking. Do not assume any of those from this article.
What the two routes have in common
Security arrangements are described as applying to the official car parks generally, not only to pre-booked customers. The roll-up page lists "The only secure on-airport parking," "ANPR controlled barriers" and "24 hour security" under the heading of using the official London Gatwick car parks. The parking FAQs add that car parks are "secured with ANPR barrier controlled entry and exit and regularly patrolled by London Gatwick security staff," are "well-lit and Park Mark approved," and that "Our Long Stay car parks also have perimeter fencing."
So the difference between drive-up and pre-book in these sources is about rate, space guarantee and booking-management flexibility — not about which car parks you can use or how they are secured.
One more charge worth knowing about
The roll-up page also covers drop-off and pick-up, which is a separate matter from parking. It states that "The drop-off zones are located directly outside the airport terminals" and that "A minimum £10 charge now applies." It directs readers to click through for more information and to pay the charge after usage, and recommends using the Short Stay car parks for picking up. If your journey involves a drop-off rather than a stay, that charge applies regardless of whether you have a parking booking, according to this page.
How to decide
- If your dates are fixed and you want the best rate and a described space guarantee: the official guidance points to booking more than 24 hours before arrival.
- If your plans are uncertain and you may need to change or cancel: an online booking can be changed or cancelled up to 24 hours before your time of arrival, per the FAQs. A drive-up arrival has no equivalent process described.
- If you are arriving at short notice anyway: roll-up is a published, priced option, and the airport says it understands drivers may need it. Check the full roll-up tariff for your car park and stay length before you go.
What is not stated here
This bundle does not give the full roll-up price table, does not state a percentage or cash difference between roll-up and pre-booked rates, does not state whether an unbooked driver is guaranteed a space, and does not state the complete rule on price differences when amending a booking. For all of those, read the official pages directly: the roll-up car park prices page and the parking FAQs. Both were checked on 6 October 2026 for this article.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Roll-Up Car Park Prices. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →