If you need accessible parking, the useful question is not simply whether a space exists, but what the published source actually confirms, what it leaves unstated, and what you must therefore confirm directly with the operator. This article works only from two airport parking sources: the London Gatwick Airport parking FAQs and the Heathrow Airport parking overview. Where those pages are silent, this article says so and names the page a reader should check.
Is there accessible parking?
At London Gatwick, the parking FAQs state that Blue Badge parking is available in every car park, and that Premium car parks offer same-level access to both the North and South Terminals. The same source states that all car parks and shuttle services are fully compliant with the Equality Act, ensuring step-free, safe access for passengers with reduced mobility, and that the free shuttle buses to and from the Long Stay car parks are accessible for both mobility scooters and wheelchairs.
At Heathrow, the parking overview lists the parking products available by terminal. It does not, in the excerpt provided, state whether Blue Badge parking is available, nor does it describe step-free access, accessible shuttle buses, or assistance for reduced mobility. A reader who needs accessible parking at Heathrow must therefore check the official Heathrow parking page directly, because this bundle does not confirm those points for Heathrow.
What the Gatwick source confirms
The Gatwick parking FAQs answer several specific questions in the excerpt provided:
- Blue Badge parking: available in every car park.
- Premium car parks: same-level access to both the North and South Terminals.
- Shuttle buses: the free shuttle buses to and from the Long Stay car parks are accessible for both mobility scooters and wheelchairs.
- Compliance: all car parks and shuttle services are fully compliant with the Equality Act, ensuring step-free, safe access for passengers with reduced mobility.
- Blue Badge discount: Blue Badge holders can use the Premium Short Stay car park at the standard Short Stay rate for up to four hours. On arrival, press the ‘Assistance’ button at the entry barrier. On exit, press the intercom again so the team can apply the Short Stay rate before payment.
The excerpt ends mid-sentence after “Please note, if you”, so the source may contain further conditions that are not reproduced here. Do not rely on the above as a complete statement of the scheme; check the official Gatwick parking page for the full wording.
What the Heathrow source confirms
The Heathrow parking overview confirms that official Heathrow Parking can be booked up to a year in advance of the stay, and that booking in advance can produce savings against drive-up or on-the-day prices. It also lists which parking products are available at which terminals:
| Terminal | Parking products listed |
|---|---|
| All terminals (2, 3, 4 and 5) | Park & Ride car park |
| Terminals 2 and 3 | Terminal Parking, Priority Park & Ride, Meet & Greet and Valet Parking |
| Terminal 4 | Park & Ride, Terminal Drop-Off Area |
| Terminal 5 | Pod Parking in addition to all the other products |
The overview also states that not all Official Heathrow Parking products are available in every terminal. Nothing in the provided Heathrow excerpt addresses Blue Badge parking, accessible spaces, step-free access, accessible shuttles, or assistance for reduced mobility. Those points are not stated here and must be checked on the official Heathrow parking page.
How do I book it?
Neither source, in the excerpts provided, describes a dedicated booking process for accessible or Blue Badge parking. The Gatwick FAQs describe what to do on arrival and exit when using the Blue Badge Premium Short Stay arrangement — press the ‘Assistance’ button at the entry barrier, and press the intercom again on exit — but they do not state how that space is booked in advance, or whether advance booking is required, recommended, or unavailable for that arrangement.
The Heathrow overview states that official Heathrow Parking can be booked in advance, at any point before the stay, and up to a year in advance. It does not state whether accessible parking is booked through the same process, whether a separate request is needed, or whether Blue Badge holders receive any booking benefit. A reader who needs to book accessible parking at Heathrow must check the official Heathrow parking page for the booking process, because the bundle does not state it.
For general trip preparation, see the site’s planning section, and for background on the site itself see about.
What should I confirm?
Because the two sources cover different points, the safe approach is to confirm each item directly with the operator before travelling. The following checklist separates what the sources state from what they do not.
Confirm with Gatwick
- Whether the Blue Badge arrangement in the Premium Short Stay car park requires advance booking, and how to arrange it. The FAQs describe the on-arrival and on-exit procedure but do not state a booking method.
- The full conditions of the Blue Badge arrangement, because the excerpt ends mid-sentence after “Please note, if you”.
- Whether the same-level Premium access to the North and South Terminals applies to all Premium car parks or only some.
- Whether assistance is available beyond the entry and exit barriers, since the excerpt mentions the ‘Assistance’ button and intercom but does not describe other assistance.
Confirm with Heathrow
- Whether Blue Badge parking is available, and in which car parks. The Heathrow overview does not state this.
- Whether accessible spaces or step-free routes exist at each terminal. The Heathrow overview does not state this.
- Whether shuttle buses or Pod Parking are accessible for mobility scooters and wheelchairs. The Heathrow overview does not state this.
- Whether accessible parking can be booked through the standard advance booking process, and how far in advance. The overview states that official parking can be booked up to a year in advance, but does not state whether that applies to accessible spaces.
- Whether any assistance is available on arrival or exit. The Heathrow overview does not state this.
What the sources do not state
It is as important to know what is missing as what is present. Neither source, in the excerpts provided, states the following:
- The number of accessible or Blue Badge spaces at either airport.
- The dimensions of accessible spaces.
- Whether accessible spaces are covered, sheltered, or located near specific entrances, beyond the Gatwick statement that Premium car parks offer same-level access to both terminals.
- Any price, fee, or discount beyond the Gatwick statement that Blue Badge holders can use the Premium Short Stay car park at the standard Short Stay rate for up to four hours. No actual price is given in either source.
- Any guarantee that a space will be available on arrival.
- Any booking deadline, cancellation rule, or refund rule for accessible parking.
- Any legal or regulatory requirement beyond the Gatwick statement that car parks and shuttle services are fully compliant with the Equality Act.
- Any contact details, phone numbers, or dedicated accessibility email addresses.
Where the bundle is silent, this article does not fill the gap. A reader who needs a definitive answer on any of the above must check the official page for the relevant airport: London Gatwick Airport parking FAQs and Heathrow Airport parking overview.
Practical summary
If you are travelling from Gatwick and hold a Blue Badge, the published FAQs confirm Blue Badge parking in every car park, accessible Long Stay shuttle buses, Equality Act compliance across car parks and shuttles, and a Premium Short Stay arrangement at the standard Short Stay rate for up to four hours using the ‘Assistance’ button and intercom. What they do not state is how to book that arrangement, or the full conditions after the truncated “Please note” sentence.
If you are travelling from Heathrow, the published overview confirms advance booking up to a year ahead and lists the parking products by terminal, but it does not state anything about Blue Badge parking, accessible spaces, step-free access, accessible shuttles, or assistance. Those points must be confirmed on the official Heathrow parking page before you rely on them.
In both cases, the responsible step is to treat the source page as the authority, check the full wording rather than an excerpt, and confirm any point that affects your journey directly with the airport or parking operator.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Heathrow Parking. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →