Airport Parking Help · UK
Comparison · 2026-10-06

Comparing Gatwick and Heathrow Parking: Product Structures Explained

A side-by-side look at how Gatwick and Heathrow structure their parking products, which airport offers the simpler model, and why a direct cross-airport price comparison is not possible from the official information alone.

If you are choosing where to park at one of London's two biggest airports, the useful first step is not hunting for a headline price but understanding how each airport organises its parking products. Gatwick and Heathrow both publish official parking information, but they describe their products in different ways. This comparison looks only at the structure of those products, using the airports' own published pages. It deliberately does not put a Gatwick price next to a Heathrow price, because the evidence available here does not support a like-for-like cross-airport figure.

Why the two airports are not directly comparable on price

The single most important point for a reader is this: neither official source in this bundle publishes a price that can be placed alongside the other airport's price. The Gatwick page excerpt describes how payment works at the barrier and refers to a "Roll-up rate" for drivers who have not pre-booked, but it does not state a figure for that rate. The Heathrow page excerpt says travellers can "make big savings against our drive-up or on-the-day prices by booking our parking in advance", but it also does not state a figure. Because no numeric price appears in either excerpt, any table comparing a Gatwick product with a Heathrow product on cost would be invented. Readers who want actual prices must check the live booking pages on each airport's own site.

This is not a limitation of the airports; it reflects how airport parking is sold. Rates vary by date, duration, product and how far ahead you book. The Heathrow page confirms that advance booking matters: "Official Heathrow Parking can be booked up to a year in advance of your stay." The Gatwick page similarly recommends booking early for longer stays: "If you wish to park any longer than 2 hours, we recommend pre-booking your Long Stay parking as far in advance as possible in order to enjoy the best rates." Both statements point to the same practical conclusion: the price you see depends on when and how you book, so a static cross-airport comparison would mislead.

How the two airports differ in product structure

The clearest structural difference is that Heathrow describes its products terminal by terminal, while Gatwick describes its products by car park type across the airport.

At Heathrow, the official page lists which products exist and then maps them to terminals. All terminals (2, 3, 4 and 5) have a Park & Ride car park. Terminals 2 and 3 also offer Terminal Parking, Priority Park & Ride, Meet & Greet and Valet Parking, and Terminal 5 has the most products available with Pod Parking in addition to all the other products. Terminal 4 is the most restricted: the excerpt lists only Park & Ride and a Terminal Drop-Off Area. The page states plainly: "Not all Official Heathrow Parking products are available in every terminal."

Heathrow also shows that product names have changed. The page labels Terminal Parking as "formerly Short Stay", Park & Ride as "formerly Long Stay", and Priority Park & Ride as "formerly Business". A reader using older guides may therefore see familiar names that no longer match the current product list.

At Gatwick, the excerpt describes car park categories rather than a terminal-by-terminal product matrix. It refers to Long Stay, Mid Stay, Short Stay, Premium Short Stay and Robotic Parking. It notes that Mid Stay and Robotic Parking are pre-book only, while Short Stay and Long Stay car parks have payment machines at the exit barrier accepting card payments only. It also gives a specific physical detail: in Long Stay, Mid Stay and Short Stay car parks, spaces are standard size at 2.4 metres wide and 4.8 metres long, and Premium Short Stay car parks offer extra-wide bays.

So the difference is one of presentation and granularity. Heathrow's structure is terminal-led and product-rich, with the range of products depending on which terminal you fly from. Gatwick's structure is car-park-led, with the same car park types described across the airport and a smaller named set of products in this excerpt.

Which airport is simpler?

On the evidence here, Gatwick presents the simpler structure. Its excerpt describes a short list of car park types and a single clear rule about pre-booking versus paying at the barrier. There is no terminal-by-terminal availability matrix to work through. A reader parking at Gatwick can think in terms of Long Stay, Mid Stay, Short Stay, Premium Short Stay or Robotic Parking, and then check the restrictions section on the relevant parking page.

Heathrow is more complex, but for a reason that may benefit some travellers: more product types exist, and the choice depends on the terminal. A traveller at Terminal 5 has the widest set of options, including Pod Parking. A traveller at Terminal 4 has the narrowest set in this excerpt. Anyone comparing Heathrow options must therefore start with their terminal, not with a general product list.

That said, "simpler" is not the same as "better". Heathrow's additional products, such as Meet & Greet and Valet Parking at certain terminals, are described as available options, and their suitability depends on the individual trip. The bundle does not contain enough detail to judge which airport offers better value or a better experience overall, and no such judgement is made here.

Can I compare prices across the two airports?

Not from the information in this bundle. Neither excerpt contains a price, a fee, a rate table or a numeric comparison. The Gatwick page mentions a "Roll-up rate" but gives no figure. The Heathrow page mentions "big savings" against drive-up prices but gives no figure. Any attempt to build a cross-airport price table from these pages would require inventing numbers.

To compare prices legitimately, a reader must go to each airport's own booking flow and enter the same dates, times and duration, then compare the quoted totals for equivalent products. The official pages to use are the Gatwick parking pages at gatwickairport.com/Airport_Parking and the Heathrow parking pages at heathrow.com/transport-and-directions/heathrow-parking. Because both airports sell by date and duration, the comparison must be run live rather than taken from a static article.

Practical points that affect how you compare

Several structural details change what a fair comparison looks like.

How to use this comparison

Think of the two airports as offering different shapes of choice rather than different prices. Gatwick's shape is a small set of car park types with a clear pre-book-or-pay-at-barrier split. Heathrow's shape is a terminal-by-terminal menu where the available products change depending on whether you fly from Terminal 2, 3, 4 or 5.

If you value a straightforward decision, Gatwick's structure is easier to navigate from the published information. If you want the widest range of product types, Heathrow Terminal 5 has the most products available in this excerpt, while Terminal 4 has the fewest. If your priority is cost, neither page in this bundle can answer that for you: you must run a live quote on each airport's official booking site using identical trip details. For broader guidance on comparing airport products, see our comparison section and our product guides.

What is not stated here

This article does not state any price, fee, saving amount, refund rule, cancellation term or guarantee for either airport, because none appears in the evidence bundle. It does not state a maximum or minimum stay for Heathrow, a free drop-off window for Heathrow, bay dimensions for Heathrow, or a booking horizon for Gatwick, because those points are not covered in the excerpts used. Readers who need those details must check the official Gatwick and Heathrow parking pages directly.

Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Heathrow Parking. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.

Apply this to your journey

Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.

Compare parking →