Airport Parking Help · UK
Planning · 2026-10-06

Choosing Parking for a Business Trip: Proximity and Transfer Time Over Price

If time matters most on a short business trip, weigh proximity and transfer time over price. Here is what the evidence covers, what it does not, and what to check.

On a short business trip, the cost of parking is rarely the biggest expense of the journey. The minutes lost between the car park and the terminal, and the uncertainty of a shuttle connection, usually matter more. This article is written for the traveller who is booking parking and whose priority is getting to the gate, or back to the car, as quickly as possible. It uses only the evidence available from the airport parking pages in our bundle, and it flags clearly where those pages are silent.

What is fastest?

On the evidence in this bundle, the fastest category of parking is the one located closest to the terminal building, with no shuttle transfer required. Heathrow describes its Terminal Parking car parks as being "just a short distance from the arrivals and departures areas of all terminals". That is the strongest proximity statement in the bundle. It is a qualitative statement, not a measured walking time, so we cannot say from this evidence exactly how many minutes the walk takes at any terminal.

Gatwick's parking FAQ describes a different arrangement for its Long Stay car parks: free shuttle buses run to and from them. The same page notes that Premium car parks offer "same-level access to both the North and South Terminals for added ease". Same-level access is a proximity and access feature, not a shuttle service, so on the evidence given it is the closest thing to a terminal-adjacent product described for Gatwick.

What this means in practice for a business trip: if the fastest option is the priority, the product to look for is the one that does not require a shuttle bus. At Heathrow that is Terminal Parking. At Gatwick the evidence points to Premium car parks for same-level terminal access, while Long Stay involves a free shuttle. The bundle does not contain a walking-time figure for any car park at either airport, so any claim about a specific number of minutes would be unsupported here.

Is price secondary?

For a short business trip, the evidence supports treating price as secondary to proximity and transfer time, but it does not let us say that price is irrelevant. The bundle contains only one concrete price: Heathrow Terminal Parking costs £8.00 for up to 30 minutes, described as a great option for pick-ups and drop-offs. That is a very short stay, not a business trip stay, so it does not help much in comparing the cost of a multi-day booking.

Beyond that single figure, the bundle does not state prices for longer stays. Heathrow says that prices for Terminal Parking "vary depending on your length of stay and whether you are pre-booking or paying our drive-up prices", and points to a table on its own page. Gatwick's parking FAQ does not quote prices at all in the excerpt available here. So we cannot state a price, a price difference, or a saving between products, and we do not. A reader comparing cost must check the official pricing tables on each airport's own parking pages.

There is one rule in the bundle that affects how a short stay can be paid for, and it is worth knowing before you assume you can simply pre-book. Heathrow states that "Stays under 9 hours cannot be pre-booked and should be paid for at ticket machines or the exit gates in the Terminal Parking car parks." For a very short business trip, or for a same-day return, that changes the booking process rather than the price. It is a rule stated by Heathrow for its own Terminal Parking car parks; the bundle does not say whether any equivalent rule applies at Gatwick.

What do I check?

Before booking, work through the points the evidence actually covers, and then check the points it does not.

Where the evidence stops

Several things a business traveller would reasonably want to know are not stated in this bundle. There is no walking-time figure for any car park at either airport. There is no price for a multi-day or business-length stay. There is no comparison of total journey time between a terminal car park and a shuttle-served car park. There is no cancellation, amendment or refund policy. There is no statement about whether pre-booking is required at Gatwick, or whether the Heathrow under-9-hours rule has any equivalent there. There is no live availability information.

For all of those points, the reader must check the official pages: the Heathrow Terminal Parking page at heathrow.com and the Gatwick parking FAQ at gatwickairport.com. Both were checked on 6 October 2026 for this article. Anything not written in those pages is not written here either.

Putting the decision together

If time is the constraint, the decision sequence suggested by the evidence is: first, identify the product with the shortest transfer, meaning no shuttle where possible; second, confirm that your stay length can be booked the way you intend, including the Heathrow under-9-hours rule if that applies to you; third, confirm access, Blue Badge and key-handling arrangements if any of those matter to you; and only then look at price. That ordering is a judgement drawn from the evidence, not a claim that any one product is guaranteed to be quicker on the day.

For broader planning context, see our planning section. To weigh products side by side, see our comparison pages. Both are starting points; the definitive terms remain those published by the airport on the pages linked above.

Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Terminal Parking. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.

Apply this to your journey

Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.

Compare parking →