When you book airport parking, the question of whether to book on the airport's own website or through a third-party reseller is often framed as a simple price comparison. The terms and conditions that govern each route, however, tell a different story. They set out who you are actually contracting with, who is accountable if something goes wrong, and what rights you have to amend or cancel. This article examines what the official London Gatwick terms and parking FAQs actually say, and where they are silent.
Where should I book?
The first thing to establish is who operates the website you are buying from. London Gatwick's terms and conditions begin with an identity statement: "These terms and conditions ("terms") govern your viewing and use of this website (the "website") which is owned and operated by GAL. For the purposes of these terms "we", "our" and "us" refers to GAL." That is a direct statement of ownership and operation. When you use the airport's own site, the contracting party named in the terms is GAL.
The parking FAQs then describe a booking and amendment process that runs through the airport's own account system. On the question of changing a booking, the FAQ states: "You can change or cancel any booking made on our website up to 24 hours before your time of arrival. To do this, log in to myGatwick, view your 'Order History' where you can view, amend or cancel your order." The phrase "any booking made on our website" is doing important work here. The amendment route described is tied to bookings made on the airport's own website, and it is administered through the airport's own account area.
The same FAQ page also addresses the general question of how much parking costs, and its answer is that "The cost of parking at London Gatwick varies by car park, date of travel and length of stay." It adds: "It is always recommended to pre-book your parking online for the best rate but should you need to arrive without a booking, our Roll-up prices can be viewed online." This is a recommendation to pre-book online, but it does not say that the online booking must be made on the airport's own site. The bundle does not contain any statement from London Gatwick about third-party resellers, their prices, their terms, or their relationship with the airport.
So on the narrow question of where to book, the evidence supports one clear conclusion and leaves another open. The clear conclusion is that bookings made on the airport's own website are governed by the airport's terms and are amendable through the airport's own account system. The open question is what happens when you book through a reseller. The bundle is silent on that point. A reader who wants to book through a reseller would need to read that reseller's own terms and conditions, because the London Gatwick terms and parking FAQs in this bundle do not describe the reseller route at all.
For background on how the airport's own terms are structured, the site's Terms and Conditions page is the primary document. The parking-specific operational detail sits on the Parking FAQs page. If you are comparing booking routes across different providers, our comparison section sets out the general framework, and the about page explains how we source and check the documents we rely on.
What if plans change?
This is where the difference between booking direct and booking through an intermediary becomes most concrete, at least as far as the evidence in this bundle goes.
For a booking made on the airport's own website, the parking FAQ gives a specific amendment and cancellation route. It states that you can change or cancel "up to 24 hours before your time of arrival", and that the mechanism is to "log in to myGatwick, view your 'Order History' where you can view, amend or cancel your order." The FAQ also anticipates that an amendment may change the price: "If there is a difference in price for your amended booking, for example if you move your parking booking to a different arri..." The excerpt in this bundle is cut off at that point, so the full sentence is not available here. What can be said from the visible wording is that the airport's own terms contemplate a price difference when a booking is amended, and that the example given concerns moving a parking booking to a different arrival time or date. The exact rule for how that price difference is calculated is not stated in the excerpt; a reader who needs that detail must check the full Parking FAQs page.
There is also a timing boundary to note. The FAQ says "up to 24 hours before your time of arrival." It does not state what happens inside that 24-hour window, nor does it state whether a booking can be amended or cancelled after arrival. Those points are not covered in the bundle.
For a booking made through a reseller, the bundle contains no equivalent statement. There is no evidence here about a reseller's amendment window, cancellation rights, price-difference rules, or whether changes are made through the reseller or through the airport. That is not a gap in the airport's terms so much as a boundary of what those terms cover: the airport's amendment process is described for "any booking made on our website." A reader who books through a reseller and then needs to change plans would need to consult that reseller's own terms, because the London Gatwick documents in this bundle do not speak to that scenario.
It is worth being precise about what the evidence does and does not establish. The evidence establishes that the airport's own website offers a self-service amendment and cancellation route through myGatwick Order History, available up to 24 hours before arrival, with the possibility of a price difference on amendment. The evidence does not establish any comparable route for reseller bookings, nor does it establish that reseller bookings lack such a route. It simply does not address them.
Who do I contact?
The accountability question follows from the contracting question. If the airport's terms state that the website is "owned and operated by GAL" and that "we", "our" and "us" refers to GAL, then for a booking made on that website, the counterparty identified in the terms is GAL. The amendment instructions reinforce this: you are told to log in to myGatwick and use your Order History, both of which are airport-operated systems. In other words, for a direct booking, the contact route and the amendment route are the same route, and it runs through the airport's own account area.
For a reseller booking, the bundle does not identify who you would contact. There is no named reseller in the evidence, and no statement from London Gatwick about how it handles bookings made through third parties. That means a reader cannot conclude from this bundle that the airport will amend a reseller booking, nor that it will refuse to. The only safe statement is that the airport's published amendment process is described in terms of bookings made on its own website.
This is the practical heart of the direct-versus-aggregator question. When you book direct, the terms tell you who the operator is, where your booking record lives, and how to change it. When you book through an intermediary, that information has to come from the intermediary, because the airport's own documents in this bundle do not supply it. Before booking through any reseller, a reader should locate and read that reseller's terms and conditions, and should check specifically for the amendment window, the cancellation route, and whether any price difference applies on change.
What the terms do not say
Reference writing requires being explicit about silence. The bundle used for this article does not state:
- Any price, fee, or charge for parking, amendment, or cancellation.
- Any refund entitlement or refund rule.
- Any rule about bookings made through third-party resellers.
- Any contact details for resellers, or any statement that the airport will or will not assist with reseller bookings.
- Any rule about what happens if you need to change a booking within 24 hours of arrival.
- Any legal or regulatory requirement governing booking contracts.
Where those points matter to a decision, the reader must check the official pages directly. The airport's general terms are on the Terms and Conditions page, and the parking-specific operational rules are on the Parking FAQs page. Both were checked on 2026-10-06 for this article. The terms page carries a "Last updated: 10th August 2023" marker, which tells you the version date of the general terms.
Practical summary
| Question | Booking on the airport's own website | Booking through a reseller |
|---|---|---|
| Who operates the site? | The terms state the website is owned and operated by GAL. | Not stated in this bundle. |
| How do I amend or cancel? | Log in to myGatwick, view Order History, amend or cancel up to 24 hours before arrival. | Not stated in this bundle; check the reseller's own terms. |
| What if the price changes on amendment? | The FAQ contemplates a price difference on amendment; the full calculation is not in the excerpt. | Not stated in this bundle. |
| Who do I contact? | The airport's own account systems, per the FAQ. | Not stated in this bundle. |
The evidence supports a straightforward reading: booking on the airport's own site gives you a documented operator, a documented amendment route, and a documented account system. Booking through a reseller is not addressed by these documents at all. That does not make reseller booking wrong or right; it means the accountability and amendment terms for that route live somewhere else, and a careful reader should find them before committing.
Checked 2026-10-06. This source check uses Parking FAQs and Terms and Conditions. It is not a live availability check, booking or personal test.
Apply this to your journey
Use your own dates and terminal, then check the airport's final price and availability.
Compare parking →